Red
    1999 Camaro SS

strange buzzing sound at startup?

So I have had the car now for about a week (99 Camaro SS), and have noticed that on some startups, there seems to be some kind of accessory that turns on (kind of like when an A/C compressor kicks on) and it buzzs or vibrates at idle. It sounds like its towards the rear of the engine. Anything other than idle and you can't hear it.

It lasts for about 20-30 seconds or so, and when it "shuts off" you can here something kind of like wind down quickly to a stop.

Does it when the car is cold/warm, usually 9/10 starts you can here it.

wtf is it? Is there some kind of fan kicking on that I don't know about? I'm new to the LS1.

Thanks in advance, sorry if I sound crazy!!

1999 Formula WS6 M6-sold
    2001 Silverado Z71

Sounds like you are completely CRAZY!!! J/K...its probablly a bad secondary air injection pump or A.I.R. pump. Does it kinda sound like a jet engine taking off?? Anyways its mounted to the lower left front of the engine Compartment and probablly has a bad bearing. To fix the noise usually requires pump replacement.

Red
    1999 Camaro SS

that may be it, but tonight I seemed to have pinpoint the sound. its definitely on the drivers side somewhere near the exhaust manifold.

I think.

Could it possible be the power steering pump? What happens if there is low fluid in it?

The car only has 49,000 miles on it, and it drives silky smooth, besides a slight wheel alignment problem.

1999 Formula WS6 M6-sold
    2001 Silverado Z71

Well...yeah I've had P/S pumps whine bad on cold starts when they are low on fluid. Top that fluid off and cold start the next day to see if the noise is gone. If so then it time to go looking for a P/S fluid leak.

Red
    1999 Camaro SS

is there anything else it could be?