Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 21 to 34 of 34

STILL not getting gas

This is a discussion on STILL not getting gas within the General Help forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; Originally Posted by ls1camino Just sent them an email now. did you re-check the ground for the hotwire kit?...

  1. #21
    TJEA Retirement Home Dr.Crash's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    U. S And A Greatest country in all of world
    Posts
    3,383

    Stock
    2002 Camaro

    Quote Originally Posted by ls1camino View Post
    Just sent them an email now.
    did you re-check the ground for the hotwire kit?

  2. #22
    Sold: LS1 '85 El Camino ls1camino's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Laurel, Maryland
    Posts
    4,977

    2000 Grand Prix GTP
    2000 Trans Am WS6 M6

    I talked to Tech Support from Racetronix last night. The guy told me that Walbro (sp?) hasn't offered a warranty since 2004, but if was to send it back to Racetronix, they MAY honor an in-house warranty.

    The guy was very persistant about if I had installed it correctly. He went into a lot of detail, which I understand. He went all balistic on me when I told him that I had cut the stock clip to get to the fuel level sender wires. He was like, "We provide you a paper clip." I don't see where doing what I did would make a performance fuel pump die.

    Quote Originally Posted by Dr.Crash View Post
    did you re-check the ground for the hotwire kit?
    It's grounded to the frame by the bolt that holds the brake lines to the frame. I even sanded it down to bare metal.

  3. #23
    TJEA Retirement Home Dr.Crash's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    U. S And A Greatest country in all of world
    Posts
    3,383

    Stock
    2002 Camaro

    Quote Originally Posted by ls1camino View Post
    I talked to Tech Support from Racetronix last night. The guy told me that Walbro (sp?) hasn't offered a warranty since 2004, but if was to send it back to Racetronix, they MAY honor an in-house warranty.

    The guy was very persistant about if I had installed it correctly. He went into a lot of detail, which I understand. He went all balistic on me when I told him that I had cut the stock clip to get to the fuel level sender wires. He was like, "We provide you a paper clip." I don't see where doing what I did would make a performance fuel pump die.



    It's grounded to the frame by the bolt that holds the brake lines to the frame. I even sanded it down to bare metal.
    kinda sucks that they dont offer a warranty cuz i just put mine in too. hopefully it works out for ya. do you still have your stock fuel pump that you can use till they send you a new one?

  4. #24
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,519

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    was the paper clip to hard to figure out or something?

    I would imagine that's all they'd need to not cover the pump in all seriousness. What brought you to the conclusion it was the pump that was bad? How did you test the pump?

  5. #25
    Sold: LS1 '85 El Camino ls1camino's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Laurel, Maryland
    Posts
    4,977

    2000 Grand Prix GTP
    2000 Trans Am WS6 M6

    Quote Originally Posted by 0rion View Post
    was the paper clip to hard to figure out or something?

    I would imagine that's all they'd need to not cover the pump in all seriousness. What brought you to the conclusion it was the pump that was bad? How did you test the pump?
    There is power going to it, but it's not even priming the system when you turn the key.

  6. #26
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    San Antonio
    Age
    46
    Posts
    289

    Silver & Black
    99 Camaro SS

    There is nothing more frustrating than buying some new Hi-Pro stuff that duds out!

  7. #27
    Moderator Cutlass's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    6,996

    1999 Formula WS6 M6-sold
    2001 Silverado Z71

    Quote Originally Posted by ls1camino View Post
    There is power going to it, but it's not even priming the system when you turn the key.
    I know we beat this to death, but do you have power AND GROUND at the pump, correct? The only reason I'm asking is because you didn't have fuel pressure with the old original pump and now you're having the same problem with the new racetronix pump.

  8. #28
    Sold: LS1 '85 El Camino ls1camino's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Laurel, Maryland
    Posts
    4,977

    2000 Grand Prix GTP
    2000 Trans Am WS6 M6

    Quote Originally Posted by Cutlass View Post
    I know we beat this to death, but do you have power AND GROUND at the pump, correct? The only reason I'm asking is because you didn't have fuel pressure with the old original pump and now you're having the same problem with the new racetronix pump.
    Yes.

  9. #29
    Moderator Cutlass's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    6,996

    1999 Formula WS6 M6-sold
    2001 Silverado Z71

    Ok good. Sounds like you have it nailed down then. Good luck!!

  10. #30
    Sold: LS1 '85 El Camino ls1camino's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Laurel, Maryland
    Posts
    4,977

    2000 Grand Prix GTP
    2000 Trans Am WS6 M6

    I GOT IT!!!

    It was a bad ground...I traced it all the way back to the ground I used for my Ram Air Lights. I didn't tape around it, so it was touching part of the chassis.

    Granted it sucks that I'm now out $166 that I spent on another Racetronix Fuel Pump...anyone want a brand new, never been run Racetronix Fuel Pump?

  11. #31
    Moderator Cutlass's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    6,996

    1999 Formula WS6 M6-sold
    2001 Silverado Z71

    hehe...I had a feeling...

  12. #32
    Super Moderator
    pajeff02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Mansfield, PA
    Posts
    21,567

    Black & Blue
    '02 WS.6 / '07 Suburban

    Quote Originally Posted by ls1camino View Post
    It was a bad ground...I traced it all the way back to the ground I used for my Ram Air Lights. I didn't tape around it, so it was touching part of the chassis.

    I'm confused -- if a ground wire is bare and touches the chassis, it shouldn't be a problem. The wire goes to ground, the chassis is grounded, ground is therefore touching ground.

    Also... a short ground run using wire at least as heavy gauge as the power feed to the pump is best. It sounds like you have a long wire run on the pump ground.

  13. #33
    TJEA Retirement Home Dr.Crash's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    U. S And A Greatest country in all of world
    Posts
    3,383

    Stock
    2002 Camaro

    Quote Originally Posted by ls1camino View Post
    I GOT IT!!!

    It was a bad ground...I traced it all the way back to the ground I used for my Ram Air Lights. I didn't tape around it, so it was touching part of the chassis.

    Granted it sucks that I'm now out $166 that I spent on another Racetronix Fuel Pump...anyone want a brand new, never been run Racetronix Fuel Pump?
    hmmmmmm

  14. #34
    The Bandit Wesman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    4,033

    SGM
    1998 Trans Am WS6

    Quote Originally Posted by ls1camino View Post
    I GOT IT!!!

    It was a bad ground...I traced it all the way back to the ground I used for my Ram Air Lights. I didn't tape around it, so it was touching part of the chassis.

    Granted it sucks that I'm now out $166 that I spent on another Racetronix Fuel Pump...anyone want a brand new, never been run Racetronix Fuel Pump?
    For free?? Sure, send it this way

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •