Results 1 to 6 of 6

speedo only goes to 25

This is a discussion on speedo only goes to 25 within the General Help forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; i just picked up a 00 trans am for my new toy problem is my speedometer says im going like ...

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    olympia wa
    Posts
    3

    silver
    00 trans am

    speedo only goes to 25

    i just picked up a 00 trans am for my new toy problem is my speedometer says im going like 25-30 on the freeway the car started out as a automatic but was switched to a m6 would this be why? any suggestions? thanks

  2. #2
    Smiles for 9.5 Years cammed goat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Paterson/Ridgewood, NJ
    Posts
    11,474

    Phantom Black Metallic
    2004 GTO M6

    Vehicle speed sensor could be messed up. I think it's located in the transmission. I could be wrong though.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    pajeff02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Mansfield, PA
    Posts
    21,576

    Black & Blue
    '02 WS.6 / '07 Suburban

    Cammed is right -- on the auto the VSS is mounted on the passenger side of the transmission towards the back. Not a clue where it is at on a T-56 or what the differences are. May simply need to update something in the tune, or it could be a parts incompatability issue.

  4. #4
    Moderator 35th-ANV-SS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Wherever life takes me
    Posts
    12,465

    Red
    02 35th LE Camaro SS

    I am pretty sure it's because on the T56, the VSS in the tailshaft has a different pulse rate than that of a 4L60E's VSS. The 4L60E has a 40 tooth reluctor ring with 40 pulses with each drive shaft revolution while the T56 uses a 17 tooth. The output shaft diameters are different along with the VSS itself.

    I thought there was an adapter you can buy. I could be wrong though. If not, I think you have to use the 4L60E reluctor ring, which would mean you need to pull the tailshaft from the T56 and swap it out. Then change the speedometer conversion in the PCM.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    olympia wa
    Posts
    3

    silver
    00 trans am

    So far the info I have found says the 4l60e trans uses a reluctor ring with 40 teeth and the t56 has 17 teeth could this be fixed by reprograming the PCM ?I can't seem to find a clear answer. anyone on here done a a4 to m6 swap ? I don't really like driving without a working Speedo lol I wouldn't have thought it would be so hard to find a clear answer lol

  6. #6
    Smiles for 9.5 Years cammed goat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Paterson/Ridgewood, NJ
    Posts
    11,474

    Phantom Black Metallic
    2004 GTO M6

    There are members with auto-to-manual swaps. If the PCM needs to be reprogrammed, and you don't want to get into all the work yourself, you could try your local dealership to connect a Tech II scanner to do the reprogramming.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Speedo off
    By Piranhaz in forum Firebird / WS6
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 09-14-2008, 10:03 PM
  2. Speedo help
    By CARHAULIN in forum General Help
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 09-05-2008, 01:25 PM
  3. Where can I get a new speedo?
    By Rojerlockless in forum Firebird / WS6
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-10-2008, 07:45 PM
  4. GTO Speedo run. 53-114
    By juiced99ws6 in forum Almost Anything Goes
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 06-07-2008, 03:31 PM
  5. speedo
    By lopezog in forum LT1
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-22-2007, 09:57 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •