Results 1 to 11 of 11

Somebody HELP me PLEASE

This is a discussion on Somebody HELP me PLEASE within the General Help forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; My car keeps stalling, I had dyno tune 2000 miles ago, 3400 stall headers new O2 sensors, and simms in ...

  1. #1
    Junior Member TAT MAN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    At the end of I-75
    Posts
    84

    Pewter
    2001 Z28

    Question Somebody HELP me PLEASE

    My car keeps stalling, I had dyno tune 2000 miles ago, 3400 stall headers new O2 sensors, and simms in the rear.
    Idle is at 500 - 600, and drops below 250, when I come to a stop or put her in reverse. Pretty embarassing to stall out an auto.
    Dealership says they cant raise idle. Or find the cause

    Anyone else have / had this problem???
    01 Z-28 - Lid, Harris Speed Works- Brute Force Dual Nozzle Wet Kit, SLP Headers, True Duals, X-pipe, Fuddle 3400 stall , TCI deep dish pan, TCI flex plate, BMR stuff
    1/4 mile 11.65 @ 119.2 with 125 shot

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    2,725
    I think you're on the right track - the "in gear" idle needs to be raised, probably bump up the line pressure a little too. My car did the same thing after my vig install before tuning - my idle would sometimes "hunt" coming to a stop and at slow rpm putting it into reverse - sometimes dying. Before tuning putting mine in reverse parking at a friends house to do a header install on his car it died twice - yes, it's embarassing. Revisit your tuner, don't let the dealer even connect to the car.

  3. #3
    Senior Member slims00ls1z28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    TN
    Posts
    1,212

    2005 GTO M6 Black
    2000 Z28 A4 Red

    Tune is off.

  4. #4
    Junior Member TAT MAN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    At the end of I-75
    Posts
    84

    Pewter
    2001 Z28

    Quote Originally Posted by 2001NBMZ28 View Post
    don't let the dealer even connect to the car.

    Why is that, Would it change settings???, he is aware of me getting the PCM tuned,

    Speed Inc is about 8 hours away. Damn the luck.

  5. #5
    Grand Imperial Wizard Sarge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Texas Department of Corrections
    Posts
    18,123
    Retired Outlaw Sum Bitch

    Reset the ECM...

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Brookshire TX
    Posts
    42
    Yup, disconnect the battery for about 30 minutes, ground wire, then reconnect, turn key on, wait about 20 sec, the crank. See it that resets the idle.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    2,725
    Quote Originally Posted by TAT MAN View Post
    Why is that, Would it change settings???, he is aware of me getting the PCM tuned
    Connecting to read/clear codes or read real time data won't hurt as long as they're aware of your tune - just don't want them to go into the tune or install any PCM updates/reflash. You can try resetting the PCM and see what happens, but I tried that - along with trying to raise the idle with the set screw - neither worked for me.

  8. #8
    Member SSpdDmon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Farmington, MI
    Age
    36
    Posts
    332

    SOM
    '01 Camaro SS

    I had my stock cam'd Z idling close to 800rpm after put the stall in...mainly because it was my first auto and I was used to the M6 idle speeds. I bet if you call your tuner, you could probably send him your pcm (since an 8 hour drive seems a little much) and have him bump up the idle.

  9. #9
    Junior Member TAT MAN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    At the end of I-75
    Posts
    84

    Pewter
    2001 Z28

    Quote Originally Posted by 2001NBMZ28 View Post
    Connecting to read/clear codes or read real time data won't hurt as long as they're aware of your tune - just don't want them to go into the tune or install any PCM updates/reflash. You can try resetting the PCM and see what happens, but I tried that - along with trying to raise the idle with the set screw - neither worked for me.

    Did the PCM reset thingy yesterday, didnt help at all.

  10. #10
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,468

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    The idle just needs raised a bit like was mentioned above.

  11. #11
    Junior Member TAT MAN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    At the end of I-75
    Posts
    84

    Pewter
    2001 Z28

    Quote Originally Posted by 0rion View Post
    The idle just needs raised a bit like was mentioned above.

    I thought the dealership could have been able to do that.
    Oh well a trip to Chicago would be fun

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •