Results 1 to 13 of 13

SLP Line Lock safe ?

This is a discussion on SLP Line Lock safe ? within the General Help forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; I just bought this kit and now I am reading about how it is not that safe and reliable !!!! ...

  1. #1

    SLP Line Lock safe ?

    I just bought this kit and now I am reading about how it is not that safe and reliable !!!! I want to install it but not sure now. Who has these that use them with no problems at all. Make me feel more comfortable with it so I can use it.

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    SATX
    Posts
    847

    Pewter
    2000 Trans Am

    well its sole purpose is to hold your car's front brakes, so you wont roll off the line. So I'm guessing it should safely hold it for a couple seconds to a minute. I have one on my car and its been working great! at first i was leaking fluid but that nothing a little super tightening can fix. MR Luos recomened using tefflon tape at the bottom fitting to prevent future leaking. but So far it hasnt leaked since i tightened it. hope this helps.

  3. #3
    Slow'er'Ass Mr. Luos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Thornton, CO
    Posts
    23,785

    Red Tint Jewelcoat
    2008 Trailblazer SS

    Yup.

    Used it on my car for 3 years without issue.

  4. #4
    Ok so I can just install it going off the instruction and be good to go. I was concerned about it accidentley going off. I read a few post where some are using another switch or the like for a back up or cut off. I was thinking about putting the switch in the ash tray.

  5. #5
    Slow'er'Ass Mr. Luos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Thornton, CO
    Posts
    23,785

    Red Tint Jewelcoat
    2008 Trailblazer SS

    That is where my switch is.

    Never had any issues with it locking up when it shouldn't.

  6. #6
    Member 346ci's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    AK
    Age
    27
    Posts
    553

    NBM
    1998 Z-28

    I've had one for a year with no issues at all, I also put my switch in the ash tray

  7. #7
    The Bandit Wesman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    4,033

    SGM
    1998 Trans Am WS6

    Definitely want to put the switch in a place where it won't be accidentally activated. Locking up the front wheels on the highway would not be a good thing

  8. #8
    Bone it like you own it FORD RECOVERY EXPERT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    TEXAS... U mad?
    Posts
    6,158

    Black / Stryker Blue
    2K WS.6/ 2K9 G8GT

    does just hitting the switch activate it??? or do you have to hold the switch, depress and release the brakes, but keep holding the switch, or hit the switch while your on the brakes... then hold it... I was under the impression you had to pressure up the lines then use the switch to hold it... if the switch alone locks up teh frontend, that...

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    SATX
    Posts
    847

    Pewter
    2000 Trans Am

    you have to step on the brakes first then hit the switch that holds up the pressure in the front brakes. I dont know why people would be installing a second switch. but theres no excuse for a safer barrier. as for myself I have tried hitting the switch while im driving but nothing happens.

  10. #10
    Bone it like you own it FORD RECOVERY EXPERT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    TEXAS... U mad?
    Posts
    6,158

    Black / Stryker Blue
    2K WS.6/ 2K9 G8GT

    thats what i thought...

  11. #11
    11's "CLUB" SS SLP2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Silsbee, Tx
    Posts
    146

    Black
    Y2K Camero SS

    chk my reply ,answer on your other post
    http://www.ls1tech.com/forums/showth...89#post9855789
    Y2K SS (SLP #239)
    Completly STOCK heads/bore/stroke/weight
    & NOTHING else ---is stock
    "NAW-NAW- just a Sunday goto meeting car, my best time is not in the 12's------- any more "
    ps: I am not soliticing work as I am retired
    >>>info on alignments
    http://www.jgruggles.com

  12. #12
    So hitting the toggle switch while driving will not lock up the front brakes ? You have to be stopped and apply brakes first correct ? Hate to sound stupid here but just want to confirm this. If you think about it even if they went on would they not lock up completely because of antilock braking ?

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    SATX
    Posts
    847

    Pewter
    2000 Trans Am

    yes!, actually if you hit your switch while driving and you step on the brakes after that, you wont have front brakes. but honestly the switch is pretty strudy. I would require at least a little bit of effort to toggle it.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. line-lock
    By RedHot99T/A in forum Firebird / WS6
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 08-18-2011, 08:12 PM
  2. SLP line lock GP...
    By 0rion in forum Group Purchases Request
    Replies: 65
    Last Post: 05-16-2009, 05:27 AM
  3. Line Lock
    By Bouvers in forum General Help
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-22-2008, 06:05 PM
  4. SLP Line Lock
    By Whiteboycntdnce in forum General Help
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-23-2007, 10:10 PM
  5. Line lock/ brake line ?
    By 2001z in forum Suspension and Handling
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-01-2007, 06:42 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •