Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 26

"service engine soon"

This is a discussion on "service engine soon" within the General Help forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; hi guys i just installed Hedman headers+Y-pipe and after that my car shows "Service engine Soon" what should that stand ...

  1. #1
    Member Sayed_000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Middle East - Bahrain
    Posts
    257

    Pewter
    Camaro 2000 SS M6

    "service engine soon"

    hi guys

    i just installed Hedman headers+Y-pipe and after that my car shows "Service engine Soon"

    what should that stand for ??

    do i made something wrong with the engine ?


    Plz help ...

  2. #2
    Senior Member taylorr12's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    .
    Posts
    1,526
    Do a diagnostic test a Auto Zone and if it's something dumb delete the code.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    2,725
    Don't think they have autozones there, but yeah get someone to read the codes for you. Could be a lot of things, did you delete the air system/EGR/cats? Any of those will throw the SES light.

  4. #4
    infantryman tingo99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    MODESTO CALI.
    Posts
    135

    white
    1999 trans am

    service soon light

    alright i was driveing and all of a sudden my temp gauge was not working then my service enginelight came on should it go away by itself or can i do the whole go to autozone thing too oh my gauge was not working cause the little plug on the right side of the engine came off what should i do?

  5. #5
    Senior Member taylorr12's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    .
    Posts
    1,526
    Quote Originally Posted by tingo99 View Post
    alright i was driveing and all of a sudden my temp gauge was not working then my service enginelight came on should it go away by itself or can i do the whole go to autozone thing too oh my gauge was not working cause the little plug on the right side of the engine came off what should i do?
    Plug it back in? Go to autozone and test it, if it's something stupid delete the code, if not get the part and delete the code.

  6. #6
    Member sirenformula350's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Chicago
    Age
    33
    Posts
    597

    Silver
    1998 Trans Am

    Quote Originally Posted by tingo99 View Post
    alright i was driveing and all of a sudden my temp gauge was not working then my service enginelight came on should it go away by itself or can i do the whole go to autozone thing too oh my gauge was not working cause the little plug on the right side of the engine came off what should i do?
    I had the same problem. The plastic part on the temp switch was corroded causing the SES light and it even made the engine surge on occasion. Just go to an auto parts store and buy a new temp switch. Its a really easy install (be prepared to lose some coolant when you remove the old temp switch) and if I remember correctly the SES light went off by itself.

  7. #7
    Member Sayed_000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Middle East - Bahrain
    Posts
    257

    Pewter
    Camaro 2000 SS M6

    i'll try to get someone read the codes 4 me ..

    thanks anyway

  8. #8
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,520

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    did you leave the catalytic converters on or take them off? Also, make sure there are no wires touching or close to the headers. It doesn't take long for them to burn up wires.

  9. #9
    Senior Member INMY01TA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    The great red state of MD.
    Posts
    5,755

    Black
    2001 Trans Am (sold)

    Quote Originally Posted by 0rion View Post
    did you leave the catalytic converters on or take them off? Also, make sure there are no wires touching or close to the headers. It doesn't take long for them to burn up wires.
    +1. This guy hasn't even told us whether or not there's still cats on the car. No cats will throw codes obviously.

  10. #10
    infantryman tingo99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    MODESTO CALI.
    Posts
    135

    white
    1999 trans am

    cool

  11. #11
    Member Sayed_000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Middle East - Bahrain
    Posts
    257

    Pewter
    Camaro 2000 SS M6

    I deleted the code and evrything was okay

    it never Came back

  12. #12
    Senior Member taylorr12's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    .
    Posts
    1,526
    Quote Originally Posted by Sayed_000 View Post
    I deleted the code and evrything was okay

    it never Came back
    What was the code?

  13. #13
    Member Sayed_000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Middle East - Bahrain
    Posts
    257

    Pewter
    Camaro 2000 SS M6

    Exclamation

    Quote Originally Posted by taylorr12 View Post
    What was the code?
    i don't remember it ..


    but it linked to the exhaust sensor .. as i know ..

  14. #14
    Senior Member taylorr12's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    .
    Posts
    1,526
    Quote Originally Posted by Sayed_000 View Post
    i don't remember it ..


    but it linked to the exhaust sensor .. as i know ..
    Oh got ya.

  15. #15
    - STOCK ish - Sarge91's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Fairhope, Alabama
    Age
    26
    Posts
    779

    Black
    2002 Camaro SS SLP

    Does O'Rilleys or Advance Autoparts do scans?

    I dont have a Auto Zone near.
    2002 Camaro SS A4 - SLP# 2951 l MS4 l LT's w/ORY l F.A.S.T 78 & TB l Borla l Cutout l CME l TCI 3500 l 3.23's l !emissions l !sway

  16. #16
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,520

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    Quote Originally Posted by Sarge91 View Post
    Does O'Rilleys or Advance Autoparts do scans?

    I dont have a Auto Zone near.
    yes, I know for a fact advanced does

  17. #17
    Senior Member taylorr12's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    .
    Posts
    1,526
    Quote Originally Posted by 0rion View Post
    yes, I know for a fact advanced does
    When i had my TA i went there and the assholes wouldn't delete my code unless I bought the part.

  18. #18
    lmpounded SandmanWs7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Dallas, Texas
    Posts
    8,028

    Silver
    2007 CTS-V

    Quote Originally Posted by taylorr12 View Post
    When i had my TA i went there and the assholes wouldn't delete my code unless I bought the part.
    Just reset the PCM

  19. #19
    lmpounded SandmanWs7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Dallas, Texas
    Posts
    8,028

    Silver
    2007 CTS-V

    Originally Posted by Mr. Luos
    The way to reset the pcm is to first turn the key on (not cranked) then remove the "pcm ign" and "pcm bat" fuses from the fuse boxes located in the engine bay on the drivers side (in front of fender), then turn key off, replace fuses then start her up. Your PCM is now reset. If you had any code showing (SES) before... it should now be gone now.. if it comes back on then you need to have the code scanned so you can pinpoint the problem and correct it. Once corrected you can reset the PCM again to see if you solved the issue. The computer will relearn everything including anything previously programmed such as with LS1edit.

  20. #20
    Member Sayed_000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Middle East - Bahrain
    Posts
    257

    Pewter
    Camaro 2000 SS M6

    Quote Originally Posted by SandmanWs7 View Post
    Originally Posted by Mr. Luos
    The way to reset the pcm is to first turn the key on (not cranked) then remove the "pcm ign" and "pcm bat" fuses from the fuse boxes located in the engine bay on the drivers side (in front of fender), then turn key off, replace fuses then start her up. Your PCM is now reset. If you had any code showing (SES) before... it should now be gone now.. if it comes back on then you need to have the code scanned so you can pinpoint the problem and correct it. Once corrected you can reset the PCM again to see if you solved the issue. The computer will relearn everything including anything previously programmed such as with LS1edit.

    can u plz show me which fuses i have remove and then replace ??

    here is a pic of my fuses map
    Last edited by Sayed_000; 12-02-2008 at 12:42 PM.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Question: "Service Engine Soon light" Got a P0430 code
    By gymrat11 in forum Camaro / SS
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-09-2014, 08:42 AM
  2. Help: "service engine soon"
    By pmolina0436 in forum GTO
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 11-26-2012, 09:26 PM
  3. Help: Service Engine Soon Light On ???"s
    By dickeymoore in forum General Help
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 07-02-2012, 08:32 AM
  4. Blinking "Service Engine Soon Light"??
    By Tampa T/A in forum Firebird / WS6
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 02-13-2011, 04:23 AM
  5. Replies: 13
    Last Post: 10-25-2007, 05:43 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •