Results 1 to 15 of 15

running issue

This is a discussion on running issue within the General Help forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; Just got a 92 k1500 with the 5.7 and straight drive. I just replaced the intake gaskets and the valve ...

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    sc
    Posts
    4

    red
    1992 k1500

    running issue

    Just got a 92 k1500 with the 5.7 and straight drive. I just replaced the intake gaskets and the valve cover gaskets and now I am having a running issue. The truck cranks up and idles for a minute then I hear the throttle body starving for air then the truck shuts off. I have checked the IAC and it ohms out fine and seems to be working.
    But I did notice that I have a plug in the front of the engine that is not hooked to anything and I cannot find anything that it plugs into. It is a pink wire with a black tracer and a brown wire.
    I have looked at everything and cannot find where it plugs in. does anyone know what this plug is for?
    Also I have a check engine light on now. 15, coolant temp sensor. Could that be causing the issue?
    Any help would be appreciated, thanks so much!!!!!

  2. #2
    Moderator 35th-ANV-SS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Wherever life takes me
    Posts
    12,465

    Red
    02 35th LE Camaro SS

    I'm pretty sure those wire colors are for the MAF, or at least they are on my LS1.

    Sounds like you have a vacuum leak maybe. Have you checked for that?
    It's on jackstands.

  3. #3
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,520

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    Quote Originally Posted by 92k1500 View Post
    Just got a 92 k1500 with the 5.7 and straight drive. I just replaced the intake gaskets and the valve cover gaskets and now I am having a running issue. The truck cranks up and idles for a minute then I hear the throttle body starving for air then the truck shuts off. I have checked the IAC and it ohms out fine and seems to be working.
    But I did notice that I have a plug in the front of the engine that is not hooked to anything and I cannot find anything that it plugs into. It is a pink wire with a black tracer and a brown wire.
    I have looked at everything and cannot find where it plugs in. does anyone know what this plug is for?
    Also I have a check engine light on now. 15, coolant temp sensor. Could that be causing the issue?
    Any help would be appreciated, thanks so much!!!!!
    does it act like it's flooding out? Seen that sensor do that to my buddies vette. Cold start and idled great until it went to closed loop then it would flood the car out. I forget the temp his was showing on the datalog but it was really cold....like -20 or something like that. Changing that sensor would be a good place to start.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    sc
    Posts
    4

    red
    1992 k1500

    thats what i am going to to after work today. i am going to replace the temp sensor then chek for any leaks. thanks guys. i will let you know what happens.

  5. #5
    Smiles for 9.5 Years cammed goat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Paterson/Ridgewood, NJ
    Posts
    11,474

    Phantom Black Metallic
    2004 GTO M6

    Keep us posted.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    sc
    Posts
    4

    red
    1992 k1500

    Just got done installing the temp sensor. And everything seems to be working just fine.
    Now I just have to worry about the brake light that comes on about 5 minutes after I leave my house every day. I am sure it has something to do with the abs but I am not sure. If you guys have any info on that that would be nice. But as for now I will do some more reading and searching about that one.
    Thanks again for all the help guys!!!

  7. #7
    Moderator 35th-ANV-SS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Wherever life takes me
    Posts
    12,465

    Red
    02 35th LE Camaro SS

    Well, could be a speed sensor bad. Are the tires the same size, front to back?

    I'd check to make sure the speed sensors are clean, as well as the wiring in tact first. Also, that the reluctor wheel is in good shape.

    I'm assuming it is set-up like our cars. If it isn't, then Orion or someone else will shout out.

  8. #8
    Former Mopar Man 2002ssslp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Branchville, NJ
    Posts
    3,111

    Silver & Blue
    02 Camaro SS, 04 GTO

    Check the MAF and listen for vacuum leaks. Or you can smoke the engine.
    My ride is a 2002 Camaro SS SLP #3296 with 30k, LTH, 3" Y, CME, Frost tune, K&N, ported TB, Blackwing lid, Bellows, MSD, Denso Iridium, and 85mm MAF, Bilsteins, Eibach springs, SLP strut brace, Adj. Panhard, TA Girdle, UMI, Pro 5.0, Nitto NT555
    My wife has a 2004 GTO with the rare SAP, 18" wheels, K&N Cold Air System, MSD, Ported TB, Frost tune, Denso Iridium, Flowmaster cat-back, 3200 Yank, 75k

  9. #9
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,520

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    most likely it's a wheel speed sensor like 35th said but if you really want to be sure stop by a shop and see what they'd charge to just scan the abs for you if you don't have a scanner. A mom and pop place here did my last one for free.....although I still gave the guy $20. That will most likely tell you immediately where the issue is. The other option is to pull the front tires and inspect/clean the reluctors and sensors. I would imagine that's front wheel abs only but not sure on that....probably doesn't have rear abs. At least getting the code pulled will point you to a tire or let you know if it's the module itself. Most of the time it's a speed sensor.

    Actron has started making abs scanners available and they're pretty affordable. You may check autozone or something too and see if they have a scanner there that reads abs and see if they'll do it for free or do a loaner tool deal for you.

  10. #10
    Spaz is My Mentor SMWS6TA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Ugy Lower Corner of AL
    Posts
    10,511

    Navy Blue Metallic
    98 T/A w/a little mods...

    I'd check the break reservoir first. If it is low the light comes on. (at least on my 98 it does)

    In my case - I had an issue 2 weeks ago whit this. My line lock was not completely tighten enough and every time I stepped on the brakes some drops came out. I tighten and refilled no issues since.

  11. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    sc
    Posts
    4

    red
    1992 k1500

    Thanks for the info guys. I will be checking that out next week and will keep you guys informed!!!

  12. #12
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,520

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    Quote Originally Posted by SMWS6TA View Post
    I'd check the break reservoir first. If it is low the light comes on. (at least on my 98 it does)

    In my case - I had an issue 2 weeks ago whit this. My line lock was not completely tighten enough and every time I stepped on the brakes some drops came out. I tighten and refilled no issues since.
    that's a good point....I was just assuming an abs issue but it doesn't necessarily have to be the abs. All that said....my money is still on a speed sensor.

  13. #13
    Moderator 35th-ANV-SS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Wherever life takes me
    Posts
    12,465

    Red
    02 35th LE Camaro SS

    I guess I'll add...when I had a speed sensor out it almost immediately triggered a ABS light, not a brake light. I thought the brake light was typically fluid level and the ABS light was sensors or the module?

    Some cars even trigger a brake light when the 3rd brake light goes out.

  14. #14
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,520

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    Quote Originally Posted by 35th-ANV-SS View Post
    I guess I'll add...when I had a speed sensor out it almost immediately triggered a ABS light, not a brake light. I thought the brake light was typically fluid level and the ABS light was sensors or the module?

    Some cars even trigger a brake light when the 3rd brake light goes out.
    you might be right......I wasn't sure if they put an abs light on them in 92.

  15. #15
    Moderator 35th-ANV-SS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Wherever life takes me
    Posts
    12,465

    Red
    02 35th LE Camaro SS

    Yea, I'm not sure either really.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. idle issue.. may be tune issue.. help?
    By okiels1 in forum General Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-07-2016, 03:17 PM
  2. pvc issue... vacuum leak....tune issue?
    By okiels1 in forum General Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-05-2016, 10:10 AM
  3. Help: Running out of ideas for disengagement issue
    By TacitCaucasoid in forum Manual Transmission
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 01-08-2013, 11:39 PM
  4. Running rough if running at all help
    By ichliebecamaro in forum LT1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-25-2010, 11:54 AM
  5. Help: tranny issue think it might be planetary issue
    By nerisls1 in forum Automatic Transmission
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-05-2009, 10:32 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •