Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Ridiculous Rotor Warping Problems

This is a discussion on Ridiculous Rotor Warping Problems within the General Help forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; Alignment has nothing to do with steering wheel shake while braking. Common mistake. However loose front -end parts can-having your ...

navy blue
    2002 Z-28 Camaro M6

Alignment has nothing to do with steering wheel shake while braking. Common mistake. However loose front -end parts can-having your front-end checked by a competent alignment shop may help. Or you're new rotors may have already warped. Checking for run-out on the rotors would of course answer this question, but having someone knowledgeable do this would be the key.

black
    97 ss

over torque the lug nuts will cause this problem also.use a torque stick on ur impact

Ross

Black
    2001 Camaro z28

alright, yeah im gonna torque them tommrow, thanks for the help cause im a complete noob when it comes to brakes. i really hope my rotors havnt warped after 9 months or 12,000 miles.

Black
    2001 Trans Am (sold)

I got the original stock rotors on mine. I always torque the lug nuts to 100ft lbs and never had a problem.

navy blue
    2002 Z-28 Camaro M6

While that is a good idea-it can still happen. I'm the only one who removes my wheels, I'm a journeyman auto mechanic, and I always used a torque stick or torque wrench. My 98 warped them silly (around 28,000 miles)from a really hard stop from 70 mph and then it stood at a standstill for a couple minutes. My 02 has 36,000 miles-no warp-but never had to do the torture test stop. I think it boils down to how hard are you on the brakes will determine the problems you have.

Red
    98 Formula /93 Z28