Results 1 to 8 of 8

Recalibrating Tach

This is a discussion on Recalibrating Tach within the General Help forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; My tach is of by a couple hundred rpm's, can it be fixed with a tuner?...

  1. #1
    Member sfletch2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Bakersfield, CA
    Age
    35
    Posts
    548

    86 Buick Grand National
    02 WS6-M6 407 RWHP

    Recalibrating Tach

    My tach is of by a couple hundred rpm's, can it be fixed with a tuner?

  2. #2
    Nitrous Tuner LS2Tuner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    WestCoast AZ-CALI
    Posts
    4,763

    Silver
    05 Goat SMASHED

    I take it your refering to the one in your WS6....?
    And you learned this by.... Having two tachs or off a handheld or what?
    It would help if you gave more of a description of your problem it will generate more responses.
    Don't be afraid of the bottle!!! Be afraid of your tune!!!

  3. #3
    Member sfletch2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Bakersfield, CA
    Age
    35
    Posts
    548

    86 Buick Grand National
    02 WS6-M6 407 RWHP

    Yeah the one in my car not an aftermarket one. I know this because when hooked up to a hp tuner or to the dyno it was off by a couple hundred or so. My car idles at about 950 according to the hp tuner and the tach is showing 750. Also on my last pull on the dyno i spun the thing 6600 rpm's and according to my tach i let off at about 6300.
    Last edited by sfletch2000; 05-11-2007 at 05:02 PM.

  4. #4
    Member sfletch2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Bakersfield, CA
    Age
    35
    Posts
    548

    86 Buick Grand National
    02 WS6-M6 407 RWHP

    So can anyone answer this question for me?

  5. #5
    Senior Member greatwhiteZ28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    d
    Age
    32
    Posts
    3,675

    white
    2002 z28

    here is the best way to do this::

    remove everything on the dash like your installing some new guage overlays. now w the guage tool pull just the tach needel off, (MAKESURE YOU KNOW WHERE IT WAS BEFORE WHEN THE CAR IS ON THE OFF POS. .i think when its off and cluster is removed it should be almost -2000, soo just remove it and put it over as much as you like. you should find someone who has removed the needls first if you dont know how.

    hope this helps

  6. #6
    Member DaddySS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Bergen Co. NJ
    Posts
    588

    Black
    2000 Camaro SS Conv.

    Ditto. It should take about an hour total - remove the cluster and remove the clear cover - reinsert the cluster, start the car and when the idle settles, take the needle off and put it carefully at 950. shut the car off, reassemble and you're done.

  7. #7
    Member sfletch2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Bakersfield, CA
    Age
    35
    Posts
    548

    86 Buick Grand National
    02 WS6-M6 407 RWHP

    thanks for the help

  8. #8
    Senior Member greatwhiteZ28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    d
    Age
    32
    Posts
    3,675

    white
    2002 z28

    dont do it WHEN ITS RUNNING!!!!!!!!! b/c the needle statke will be moving and could mess up the rotation mtr in cluster, and if you break that needle it will cost you almost 300 $ caseu GM makes you buy the whole cluster just for 1 needle.

    YOU NEED THE SPECIAL NEEDLE REMOVER.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. race tach question? installed?
    By TASWEET SS in forum Camaro / SS
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-29-2007, 09:23 AM
  2. tach
    By guy in forum Firebird / WS6
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-28-2006, 09:41 AM
  3. Proform 5" Tach
    By PARTSMAN84 in forum Parts For Sale / Trade
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-20-2006, 07:26 AM
  4. Tach Wire?????????
    By CamaroCrazyChris in forum General Help
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 04-23-2006, 04:42 PM
  5. new arp head bolts and new tach.
    By BIGCOWL-IMP in forum Parts For Sale / Trade
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-29-2005, 05:11 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •