black
    1981 Chevy c10

poor fuel mileage after lm7 swap

Hey guys I'm a newbie to this forum. I have a problem with my lm7/4l60e swap into my 1981 Chevy short wide. I was hoping to get the fuel mileage like these stock motors are supposed to get but mine is only 8 miles per gallon. The combo is out of a 2005 Silverado. All stock no mods the computer has been reflashed for the swap. I did my own wiring harness. It turned out great. The motor runs excellent shifts good and drives good. I like the power it has. But the fuel mileage is killing me in gas. The fuel pump is the walbro 255 with the corvette filter/regulator combo. My exhaust is stock with a flow master. No duals. In the future. 3:73 gears.

Black & Blue
    '02 WS.6 / '07 Suburban

Welcome!

What size tires are you running? Stock converter? Any signs of the engine running rich?

Our 6,200 lb. Suburban pulling our 7,000 lb. trailer manages 9.3 mpg... so you must have something off kilter.

black
    1981 Chevy c10

Thank you for welcoming me. The tire size is 245/70/17. Stock converter. No aftermarket mods. It is running rich. I finally got the check engine light to come on the codes are p0332 and p0327. Knock sensor codes. Would that make my truck runs rich. And it seems to cut out while driving for a split second.

Navy Blue Metallic
    98 T/A w/ mods, 00 FBVert

custom wire harness, did you include at the min the front O2 sensors?

What gear ratio in the rear? tall gears = crappy mileage.

Do you know anyone that can data log what the motor is doing? You might not have the correct fuel trim tables, etc.....

Our best tuner on here is Frost. He specializes in custom and mail order tunes. I as well as many others here have a tune from him.

He might be your best bet.

TunedByFrost.com - Professional Tuning For Your LSx Powered Car or Truck

Black & Blue
    '02 WS.6 / '07 Suburban

+1 for a Frost tune. He has a quick turnaround time and is reasonably priced.