Results 1 to 11 of 11

Plug change... now problem!

This is a discussion on Plug change... now problem! within the General Help forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; I started to change my plugs last night and got half way done (replaced all plugs on drivers side) and ...

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Age
    35
    Posts
    32

    Black
    1999 Trans Am

    Plug change... now problem!

    I started to change my plugs last night and got half way done (replaced all plugs on drivers side) and decided to wait until today to replace the rest of them. This morning I jumped in the car to run to the grocery and the car ran fine on the way there. But on the way back I decided to get in it a little bit and the car is missing badly above 4500 RPM at WOT. I took a detour to try it out again and it does the same. Before you ask I did not replace the wires and I used NGK Iridium plugs. I falied to use any dielectric (sp) grease on the wires. Does this sound like a plug wire problem? The car ran fine before I worked on it last night, just had a little hesitation, but still ran hard. Now it is running like sh!t. I checked and rechecked all wires before I fired it up this morning and everything appeared to be in order. The car runs perfect during normal driving but once you get in it and get past about 4500 RPMS it cuts out like a b!tch. Should I pull the wires off again and put some grease in them, could this be the problem? The car did not set an SES light, which I thought was odd considering how it was running. All help is appreciated!
    Last edited by Black 99 Bird; 06-11-2006 at 04:34 AM.

  2. #2
    Single Malt rbob93's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL
    Age
    68
    Posts
    2,707

    Sebring Silver
    2000 CamaroSS

    Boot grease has no purpose other than allowing for easy removal and perhaps to help keep moisture out.

    Things that come to mind in this scenario are that you may have a bad plug even though they are new, gotten antisieze on the firing tip of one or more plugs, pulled loose a wire from an injector, broken one or more ignition wires by not using boot grease on a prior install, pulled a connector off and not replaced it, didn't gap plugs correctly, just to name a few.

    Good luck.

  3. #3
    We'll be back... GatorSS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    THE SWAMP
    Posts
    1,446

    Light Pewter Metallic
    2000 Camaro SS M6

    Most likely it is a wire problem.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    15
    did u check all of the plug gaps? sounds like spark is blowing out under accel. this can happen with too wide of a gap

  5. #5
    Senior Member SeVeReDiStOrTiOn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Roseville, CA
    Posts
    8,164

    05 Wrangler
    00 Z28 sold :-(

    Make sure the wires double click on the coils and single on the plugs...check the gaps like previously stated

  6. #6
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,468

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    Quote Originally Posted by SeVeReDiStOrTiOn
    Make sure the wires double click on the coils and single on the plugs...check the gaps like previously stated
    +1
    I bet you don't have a wire on all the way or you damaged one pulling them off the old plugs.

  7. #7
    Impounded YoMommasTA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    ne pa
    Posts
    532
    replace ALL the plugs then try it again...running on half new and half old is gonna freak the computer out terribly.
    Last edited by YoMommasTA; 06-11-2006 at 09:11 PM.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Age
    35
    Posts
    32

    Black
    1999 Trans Am

    Quote Originally Posted by 90zcrex
    did u check all of the plug gaps? sounds like spark is blowing out under accel. this can happen with too wide of a gap
    Gaps were fine?

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Age
    35
    Posts
    32

    Black
    1999 Trans Am

    Quote Originally Posted by 0rion
    +1
    I bet you don't have a wire on all the way or you damaged one pulling them off the old plugs.
    This is a possibility, I did have to get rough with one of them.

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Age
    35
    Posts
    32

    Black
    1999 Trans Am

    Quote Originally Posted by YoMommasTA
    replace ALL the plugs then try it again...running on half new and half old is gonna freak the computer out terribly.
    Why would old and new plugs cause a problem? Not questioning you just wondering why?

  11. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Age
    35
    Posts
    32

    Black
    1999 Trans Am

    I need new wires anyway and I will place a order for some MSDs very soon. I'll post up and let everyone know what I find. Thanks for the help!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •