Results 1 to 5 of 5

Oil pressure gauge pinned?

This is a discussion on Oil pressure gauge pinned? within the General Help forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; First off, any help you can offer is greatly appreciated. Well I just changed out my rear knock sensor and ...

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    15

    Oil pressure gauge pinned?

    First off, any help you can offer is greatly appreciated.

    Well I just changed out my rear knock sensor and broke the infamous oil pressure sending unit when taking out the intake. I needed the car up and running for the drive to Gatlinburg tomorrow morning so I tryed to fix it the quick and easy way and JB welded the thing back in place. I started the car and everything runs normal but the oil pressure gauge reads a constant 90psi and never flinches (maxed out). I've heard if the OP sending unit was broken then it would read 0 pressure and not really be a problem other than it wouldnt work. Now that I see mine is maxed out it got me worried. What could be the problem? I'm not worried about the gauge not working for the drive to Gatlinburg, but is everything else still in safe operating condition? I even checked to see if it threw a code, but it passed showing nothing wrong.

  2. #2
    Life in the Fast lane sunsetorangess's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Bragg NC
    Posts
    2,835

    Met. Sunset Orange
    01 SS

    Lol Jb weld is like duck tape...
    If ya broke the sensor i would reccomend replaceing the sensor with a new one. That will probly solve your issue.
    J
    2001 SS, Its not the car its the Driver that matters....

  3. #3
    Blown, Stroked, & Sprayed

    Ed Blown Vert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    San Diego, Ca
    Posts
    50,525

    Black
    383 Procharged & N20 Vert

    You need to change the oil sensor.
    Black 1999 Blown Convertible A4
    Forged 383, ATI D-1SC
    NX MAF Kit | 222/226 .585 115
    AS Stage II 6.0L FI Heads
    Moser 9" | 3.70 | Wavetrac | 35 Spline | Vigilante 3600
    548.0 RWHP - 563.8 RWTQ - 10# - D1

    666.0 RWHP - 734.2 RWTQ - 125 Shot - P1

    Black 2009 Escalade Hybrid 4WD
    Black 2008 GMC Yukon Hybrid 4WD (Totaled)

    Black 2013 Chevy Volt (Gone)

  4. #4
    Senior Member ss~zoso~ss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    )
    Posts
    9,128

    SS: NBM, tan top
    1998-SS, 2010 Jetta TDI

    yup sounds like the JB weld fucked somthing up with the OPSU

  5. #5
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,468

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    Look at it this way. At least this time you'll be able to pull the intake faster than the first time. Been there and done that. I read maybe 50-60 posts where people broke their sensor doing intake swaps and I still managed to break mine. Then I replaced my buddies on his c-5 so I've gotten pretty good at pulling the intake.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •