Results 1 to 13 of 13

Oil Capacity Question

This is a discussion on Oil Capacity Question within the General Help forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; Took the car last week to have the oil changed, & gave them the 5 qt + 1qt synthetic to ...

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Duncan, OK
    Posts
    21

    Black
    2002 WS6 T/A

    Oil Capacity Question

    Took the car last week to have the oil changed, & gave them the 5 qt + 1qt synthetic to put in the car I brought with me.

    Normally they put in the 5.5 qts, but this time I checked back a couple of days later & they admitted they had put all 6, but that it would not hurt anything.

    Besides being irritated, is there anything I need to be worried about?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    2,725
    You'll be fine.

  3. #3
    Senior Member SeVeReDiStOrTiOn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Roseville, CA
    Posts
    8,164

    05 Wrangler
    00 Z28 sold :-(

    I put in 6 with a new filter.....even then it's a little low on the dipstick.

  4. #4
    SUPREME member-oderator oneBADDz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Lost in Texas
    Age
    34
    Posts
    2,683

    Custom Slate Blue
    99 B4C

    Yeah, they say it's 5.5, but that'll leave you low. Always put in 6 if you change the filter -which you should change every time

  5. #5
    James Bond Spikito's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    30
    Posts
    4,546

    2001 3.8 Black - sold
    2000 SS Black M6

    I have a 95 3.8, just did the first oil change on the car. i didnt check the level before i changed it, stupid me, but anyway, i heard somewhere that it holds 4 quarts, i had bought a 5 qt jug, i drained the old oil, put in about 4 quarts. checked the level and it was on the minimum of having enough, so i went ahead and added the last quart. i put the old oil in the jug and that came to about the 3.5-4 quart level.

    I drove my car about 6 miles, got it up to speed, checked it again, the oil is about 3 inches up the stick from the full line. what should i do.

    a prompt reply would be nice, this is my only car and i have to go to school and work tomorrow, thats about 70 miles.

  6. #6
    Senior Member Orcus79's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Age
    38
    Posts
    1,346

    black
    2002 WS6

    Quote Originally Posted by Spikito View Post
    I have a 95 3.8, just did the first oil change on the car. i didnt check the level before i changed it, stupid me, but anyway, i heard somewhere that it holds 4 quarts, i had bought a 5 qt jug, i drained the old oil, put in about 4 quarts. checked the level and it was on the minimum of having enough, so i went ahead and added the last quart. i put the old oil in the jug and that came to about the 3.5-4 quart level.

    I drove my car about 6 miles, got it up to speed, checked it again, the oil is about 3 inches up the stick from the full line. what should i do.

    a prompt reply would be nice, this is my only car and i have to go to school and work tomorrow, thats about 70 miles.

    Pull the plug and drain that excess oil out.

  7. #7
    Senior Member greatwhiteZ28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    d
    Age
    33
    Posts
    3,675

    white
    2002 z28

    Quote Originally Posted by Orcus79 View Post
    Pull the plug and drain that excess oil out.
    thats easyeier said then done to get precise

  8. #8
    Senior Member JonB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Florida
    Age
    33
    Posts
    1,458

    Black
    2005 GTO

    My car always takes 6qts 5.5 leaves it low.
    05 PBM GTO
    Cold Air Inductions CAI,
    Relocated IAT with omega,
    Slp Predator tune,
    Flowmaster axle back with H pipe,
    Custom tuned TCM.
    BC Racing coil overs


    Sold 01 z28

  9. #9
    James Bond Spikito's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    30
    Posts
    4,546

    2001 3.8 Black - sold
    2000 SS Black M6

    Quote Originally Posted by Orcus79 View Post
    Pull the plug and drain that excess oil out.

    wow, that was really fast, remember that im talking about the 3.8 v6.

    I dont have anymore oil, id have to drive to get more, hence my problem, i know theres 5 in it, and i cant find anywhere on any forum, or on the internet for that matter that says hwo much oil it takes. the manual says 4.5, but that doesnt distinguish between 3.4, 3.8 or 5.7, it simply says oil capacity 4.5 qts. if i new the actual capacity i could just eyeball out the extra.

  10. #10
    Impounded
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Pa
    Posts
    276

    Red
    99 TA

    I always use six in mine.

  11. #11
    Grand Imperial Wizard Sarge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Texas Department of Corrections
    Posts
    18,129
    Retired Outlaw Sum Bitch

    If you do not have any foam on your dipstick then your fine.

  12. #12
    James Bond Spikito's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    30
    Posts
    4,546

    2001 3.8 Black - sold
    2000 SS Black M6

    Quote Originally Posted by Sarge View Post
    If you do not have any foam on your dipstick then your fine.
    no foam on the dipstick, but i had to drive it to school and back today, ~50 miles, on the way home it felt funny. It wasnt acting up or anything, it just didnt feel right, so when i got home i drained a little over half a quart. theres 5 holes on the dipstick in the "good" range, it was between the second and third hole from the bottom.

    I took it for a drive after that and it felt normal again.

    Also, i switch from 10w30 to 5w30, should my oil pressure have dropped a little, it used to hang out at 65-70, now its 50-55, and about 35 when idling.

  13. #13
    old timer blue02Z's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    31
    Posts
    3,805

    Navy Blue Metallic
    2002 Z28

    for the v6 it takes 4.5 trust me, i used to change oil at a dealership sometime ago.




    i always run 6 qts in my z

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. High Capacity Filter
    By Nowhereman in forum General Help
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 11-05-2011, 12:51 PM
  2. Stock bottom end capacity
    By Darkrider02 in forum General Help
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-04-2010, 06:03 PM
  3. Question: Oil capacity??
    By Wagonmaster in forum General Help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-29-2009, 12:42 AM
  4. Freon Capacity
    By jimmy77611 in forum General Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-26-2008, 10:47 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •