Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Not starting

White
    1998 FireBird Formula

Not starting

I finally got my motor in and everything hooked up tonight. I took it out to clean up the engine bay, replace the wiring harness and put a stall in. So anyways i get everything hooked up except for the exhaust and just wanted to fire it up since its been so long... I turned the key and all i heard was the starter, sounded like it was spinning but not catching the flex plate basically... I don't get it, i put the starter back on with the motor out of the car after putting in the stall, everything seemed to go just fine, the bolts lined up perfectly.. What am i missing here?? anyone have any ideas? is it possible for the starter to not line up correctly even with the bolts lined up perfectly??

This is my first time doing anything major with the car, so sorry for any questions that seemed stupid... I just want my car back on the road...

White
    1998 FireBird Formula

is it possible that even with the starter bolted in its still not making contact with the flexplate, or could the started be messed up?? it worked prefectly fine before i pulled the motor out...

11 years of bangin gears cammed goat's Avatar

Phantom Black Metallic
    2004 GTO M6

Either the starter is misaligned, or the bendix is shot. I doubt the flexplate is in backwards.

Black/Black/Black
    2000 Camaro SS Vert #5301

Take the starter to O'reilly's and have them test it for free. See if the bendix is moving to engage the flywheel. If not, replace starter. If it does move, you may have to shim the starter to get it to engage properly.
    2000 SS vert, #5301, triple black, A4, leather, 3.23,SLP lid & D/D, STB, chrome 5 spokes
    USN '64-'88
    #3 1951-2001

www.fquick.com/planemech2

White
    1998 FireBird Formula

what is this bendix? i've never heard of that before..