Results 1 to 7 of 7

no tach

This is a discussion on no tach within the General Help forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; hey guys i was on here with the same question a week ago but no real help came of it. ...

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    ottawa, Canada
    Posts
    11

    Black
    98' LS6 Z28

    no tach

    hey guys i was on here with the same question a week ago but no real help came of it. i have no tach. the whole cluster works but no tach. engine runs great no codes so the problem must be betwwen the cluster and the pcm. check white wire it has 5ish volts and the pcm but only 0.9 ish at the cluster it self. 0 resistance from pcm to cluster. I need some help some one with a wire diagram or any ideas thanks.

    chris

  2. #2
    Moderator Cutlass's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    6,996

    1999 Formula WS6 M6-sold
    2001 Silverado Z71

    98 tach wiring

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    ottawa, Canada
    Posts
    11

    Black
    98' LS6 Z28

    thanks i'll check it out

  4. #4
    TunedbyFrost.com Tuner Frost's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Richmond VA
    Posts
    2,415

    LS1.com Sponsor
    GM Tuner

    You don't have any cam sensor codes do you? The PCM uses the CPS for RPM signal but it drives the dash tach based on feedback from the cam position sensor. Whenever there is an issue there, you can lose tach. If it's cam sensor wiring, you will occasionally get a 'fart' when starting the car or notice that it doesn't start quite as easy as it 'should'.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    ottawa, Canada
    Posts
    11

    Black
    98' LS6 Z28

    this car start and runs great. i ran last week against my freinds z06 cause the car ran good and it did ,door to door through ever gear so ya its running and starting good. only thing is i am going by ear for the shifts. could the car run with the cam signal off or not there at all? also i have a 255 in line pump that used to prime then stop if you don't start the car-- just like a reg fuel pump right. but ever since this issue the pump runs fine just never auto stops with the key on and not started the pump now runs on and on now.

  6. #6
    TunedbyFrost.com Tuner Frost's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Richmond VA
    Posts
    2,415

    LS1.com Sponsor
    GM Tuner

    Yes, the car runs without the cam sensor, it just makes the cars act goofy at startup and you lose the tach signal when they have an issue.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    ottawa, Canada
    Posts
    11

    Black
    98' LS6 Z28

    really wow and it would still run that good. it has no check engine light either is that possible as well. where is the sensor must be at the back can i see a pic if possible.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. LS1 vs C3 tach
    By Zmanx in forum Stereo and Electronics
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-06-2008, 10:38 AM
  2. Tach Problem !!!!
    By camarostripes96 in forum General Help
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-24-2008, 09:44 AM
  3. Question: 98' tach signal.
    By yellowv in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-23-2008, 01:20 PM
  4. Recalibrating Tach
    By sfletch2000 in forum General Help
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-19-2007, 11:36 AM
  5. tach
    By guy in forum Firebird / WS6
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-28-2006, 10:41 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •