Results 1 to 13 of 13

no front O2 activity?

This is a discussion on no front O2 activity? within the General Help forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; My buddy bought his car without an engine/tranny/computer, now that it is all assembled the only problem is there is ...

  1. #1
    SUPREME member-oderator oneBADDz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Lost in Texas
    Age
    33
    Posts
    2,683

    Custom Slate Blue
    99 B4C

    no front O2 activity?

    My buddy bought his car without an engine/tranny/computer, now that it is all assembled the only problem is there is no signal from the front O2s, so obviously it sucks down gas like crazy and TSP couldn't tune it aside from WOT. What could cause no signal from them?

  2. #2
    Slow'er'Ass Mr. Luos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Thornton, CO
    Posts
    23,785

    Red Tint Jewelcoat
    2008 Trailblazer SS

    They are there right??

    And not connected to the harnesses for the rear O2's?

  3. #3
    Grand Imperial Wizard Sarge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Texas Department of Corrections
    Posts
    18,123
    Retired Outlaw Sum Bitch

    Does he have an aftermarket ECM?

  4. #4
    SUPREME member-oderator oneBADDz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Lost in Texas
    Age
    33
    Posts
    2,683

    Custom Slate Blue
    99 B4C

    They are there, connected correctly. It is not aftermarket as far as we know, we got the whole engine/tranny/comp as a package from a salvage yard in florida from a 98 T/A

  5. #5
    Slow'er'Ass Mr. Luos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Thornton, CO
    Posts
    23,785

    Red Tint Jewelcoat
    2008 Trailblazer SS

    Datalog file??

    What are the O2's showing millivolt wise?? Anything at all?

  6. #6
    SUPREME member-oderator oneBADDz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Lost in Texas
    Age
    33
    Posts
    2,683

    Custom Slate Blue
    99 B4C

    we don't know that stuff, we're amateurs. He has codes that say no signal from the front O2s and that's all we understand. . .lol. Am I getting in over my head on this? I'll have him get the codes read so I can give you the number, right now all I know is what TSP said about no activity. I don't have the car here, he lives 2 hours from me so it's hard to find out much more than that, sorry to ask for help without any real info to give I figured it wouldn't be a hard problem to figure out

  7. #7
    Slow'er'Ass Mr. Luos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Thornton, CO
    Posts
    23,785

    Red Tint Jewelcoat
    2008 Trailblazer SS

    Hard to say.
    If the O2's are shot or somehow got fouled, they wouldn't switch enough to provide accurate info to the computer.
    They may need replaced.

    I need more info. If there was a datalog file in HPTuners I could determine what they are doing and help more.

  8. #8
    SUPREME member-oderator oneBADDz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Lost in Texas
    Age
    33
    Posts
    2,683

    Custom Slate Blue
    99 B4C

    they've been replaced and still no go

  9. #9
    Slow'er'Ass Mr. Luos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Thornton, CO
    Posts
    23,785

    Red Tint Jewelcoat
    2008 Trailblazer SS

    Ground issues? If I recall, each O2 has a ground strap.

  10. #10
    SUPREME member-oderator oneBADDz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Lost in Texas
    Age
    33
    Posts
    2,683

    Custom Slate Blue
    99 B4C

    I've told him to make sure on the grounds. I think I'm gonna have to check it all out myself when I go up there. I'd like to have any ideas I might need before I go though which is what you guys are helping with. Right off the bat I figured it was a ground prob, considering he bought it engineless and installed it himself it was the first natural assumption. He replaced them with my ex-rear O2s and then bought new ones after they didn't work either.

  11. #11
    Life in the Fast lane sunsetorangess's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Bragg NC
    Posts
    2,835

    Met. Sunset Orange
    01 SS

    When they say mili. as far as the 02's there talkin if you hook the car up too a computer or datalog something along those lines and it will read in real time what the 02's are puttin out. If you dont have the comp most shops will charge somewhere around 50 bucks or so too give ya the info your lookin for. I threw a similar code and it was bc my 02's were "lazy". Replace them and was good too go.
    J
    2001 SS, Its not the car its the Driver that matters....

  12. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Toronto
    Age
    35
    Posts
    7

    Red
    2000 Z28

    You need them bad

  13. #13
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,468

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    It would seem to me he doesn't have something hooked up right somewhere. Has he thought about just going open loop? Sarge has the hookup for a good tuner in texas. Might be an idea although if it were me I would want the O2's and would chase down the wiring to make sure everythings squared away.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •