Results 1 to 12 of 12

My Rev Is Limited!

This is a discussion on My Rev Is Limited! within the General Help forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; Ok, Ive tried everything I know how to adjust with no change. The car will not rev past 6300rpm in ...

  1. #1
    Junior Member blackonblackws6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    USA
    Age
    47
    Posts
    45

    Black
    2002 WS6 TA

    My Rev Is Limited!

    Ok, Ive tried everything I know how to adjust with no change. The car will not rev past 6300rpm in any gear, weather I try to shift it manualy or change the shift speed tables. I tried a different PCM no change. Not sure if this is a torque management issue or GM has some kind of limit set for the 4L60E or what. Does anyone have an idea? The guy that took my money to tune my PCM isn't helping only blaming my car, tuning software and me for the problem maybe he doesn't know as much as he thinks.

    Thanks guys



    2002 Trans Am LS1/ 4L60E /2500TCI converter,
    Comp Cam and valve trane 90mm FAST intake/TB
    JET DST software

  2. #2
    Veteran Hi-Po's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    10,461

    Black
    1999 TA WS.6

    With what tuning software?

  3. #3
    Senior Member Zboner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    cincinnati/northern ky
    Age
    31
    Posts
    9,045

    Black
    99 SS

    its TQ management, and the tuner has to set the shift points in the transmission

  4. #4
    Member Tracker9118's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    138

    Black
    99 Z-28

    6700 rpm

    [B]I have a 99 Z. I maxed it out at 6700 and let me tell you, You can definetly feel the torque & the transmission does not slip. Its been that way for 3 yrs since i max out all perameters. But i have to use at least 102 octane in it to get max performance.

  5. #5
    Junior Member blackonblackws6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    USA
    Age
    47
    Posts
    45

    Black
    2002 WS6 TA

    I'm using Jet DST tuning software (was tuner cats before they sold out) Have had good luck with using it until now but not blaming it yet. Not sure what TQ management tables to change or fuss with and to what values to use. Also the shift speeds I changed only change the point at which it shifts in auto right? If I add mph in gear it only hits 6300rpm and studders before it gets to the speed set. I have the RPM set at 6800 but no matter what I can get the motor to rev past 6300rpm manual or auto.
    thanks guys

  6. #6
    Slow'er'Ass Mr. Luos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Thornton, CO
    Posts
    23,785

    Red Tint Jewelcoat
    2008 Trailblazer SS

    The handheld didn't change every table it needed to change to allow for more RPM.

  7. #7
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,519

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    there is a mph flag and an rpm flag that have to be met before the tranny will shift. It has to meet both criteria. What you're describing though sounds like you're hitting the rev limiter which is different than your shift points. It cuts fuel at the set rpm. Make sure you're changing the right table. Another thing is are you going by the tach or are you data logging it to see what mph it's shifting at? The tach is not completely accurate....granted, that's a lot to be off but I would verify with a data logger where it's trying to shift.

  8. #8
    Junior Member blackonblackws6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    USA
    Age
    47
    Posts
    45

    Black
    2002 WS6 TA

    scanner is showing the tach is right on at 6300rpm when the engine stutters. the shift rpm is set at 6800, the shift points are set just high enough so it won't hit the "invisable" limiter (that I can't figure out) when it shifts automatic but either way I can't make it rev higher. I would think I would be able to shift it manualy past the set shift points and the engine would rev past 6300rpm but no, it clearly bounces at 6300 in gear. Does the MPH have to be set higher in order to get the engine to rev to the 6800 rpm limit even though I'm trying to shift it manualy? Problem is when I tried to raise the shift mph tables it with hit the 6300rpm point before it reaches the 6800 rpm limit I set. I've gone through every table (thats a bunch) and found nothing set at 6300rpm. I'm stumped or stupid ! Maybe it's time for better software but this stuff should be fine, I don't get it.

  9. #9
    Veteran Hi-Po's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    10,461

    Black
    1999 TA WS.6

    Is the fuel cutoff RPM set higher? Do you see a table in that software for fuel cutoff?

  10. #10
    Junior Member blackonblackws6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    USA
    Age
    47
    Posts
    45

    Black
    2002 WS6 TA

    Quote Originally Posted by Hi-Po View Post
    Is the fuel cutoff RPM set higher? Do you see a table in that software for fuel cutoff?
    Yeah, fuel cut off is @ 6800 in every table the shift vs gear is @ 6800 I can't see any place were it has 6300 set. If I increase mph in gear it hits a 6300 blocker. CRAZY ISN'T IT? I have to think its simple but I haven't got a clue what. Maybe I should relaod my tuning software on my laptop because flashing a different PMC didn't do it. does anyone use Jet tuning software? I'll post my tune file. The Tuner Cats/Jet forum doesn't see as much traffic as this forum does.
    thanks fellas
    Last edited by blackonblackws6; 04-28-2009 at 01:52 PM.

  11. #11
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,519

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    I've never used tuner cats stuff but it sounds like there's a table that isn't there or you're overlooking a limiter table.

  12. #12
    TunedbyFrost.com Tuner Frost's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Richmond VA
    Posts
    2,415

    LS1.com Sponsor
    GM Tuner

    Quote Originally Posted by Zboner View Post
    its TQ management, and the tuner has to set the shift points in the transmission
    It's definitely NOT tq mngmnt


    Quote Originally Posted by 0rion View Post
    there is a mph flag and an rpm flag that have to be met before the tranny will shift. It has to meet both criteria. What you're describing though sounds like you're hitting the rev limiter which is different than your shift points. It cuts fuel at the set rpm. Make sure you're changing the right table. Another thing is are you going by the tach or are you data logging it to see what mph it's shifting at? The tach is not completely accurate....granted, that's a lot to be off but I would verify with a data logger where it's trying to shift.

    While it's true that they both must be met, the mph HAS to reached before the RPM or it will not shift; it will run through to the limiter.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. For Sale: Limited Modified
    By silver04gto in forum Vehicles For Sale / Trade
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-07-2009, 06:46 AM
  2. FS: 2004 HUMMER H2 Limited (RED)
    By z28smokin in forum Vehicles For Sale / Trade
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-30-2008, 12:58 PM
  3. Eaton Limited Slip
    By robert 98 in forum Drivetrain
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-09-2008, 02:06 PM
  4. Speed Limited Z
    By drock608 in forum General Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-28-2006, 03:50 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •