Results 1 to 7 of 7

This might of already been answered?

This is a discussion on This might of already been answered? within the General Help forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; Is it hard to swap out an LT1 car with an LS1? Im looking at a car that has an ...

  1. #1
    Rice Killa JwMonE99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Myrtle Beach
    Age
    27
    Posts
    5,561

    Black With T-Tops
    96 Z28 M6

    This might of already been answered?

    Is it hard to swap out an LT1 car with an LS1? Im looking at a car that has an LT1 in it with a blown motor, I am considering to buy it and swap with new motor so might as well get an LS1 in there. Also how would the transmission bolt up? And where is a good place to get an LS1 and transmission combo?

  2. #2
    Senior Member INMY01TA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    The great red state of MD.
    Posts
    5,755

    Black
    2001 Trans Am (sold)

    Quote Originally Posted by JwMonE99 View Post
    Is it hard to swap out an LT1 car with an LS1? Im looking at a car that has an LT1 in it with a blown motor, I am considering to buy it and swap with new motor so might as well get an LS1 in there. Also how would the transmission bolt up? And where is a good place to get an LS1 and transmission combo?
    No it's not that hard. I know of three people around here that put LS1s in their LT1s.

  3. #3
    Rice Killa JwMonE99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Myrtle Beach
    Age
    27
    Posts
    5,561

    Black With T-Tops
    96 Z28 M6

    Thats good to hear, is there any kind of special work to be done, to get around the transmission or something

  4. #4
    Rice Killa JwMonE99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Myrtle Beach
    Age
    27
    Posts
    5,561

    Black With T-Tops
    96 Z28 M6

    Bump

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Pocono Mtns, PA
    Age
    62
    Posts
    103

    White
    '02 Camaro SS

    Why not stay with the gen II motor? They were excellent engines, heck they were around for over 40 years.
    For less than an LS1 you can get a complete new engine with comparable horsepower that is a direct replacement. Only thing needed is a retune of your PCM.

  6. #6
    LoudMouth SStriker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Westminster/Sykesville, Maryland
    Age
    28
    Posts
    512

    Red
    2000 Trans Am

    LT1 and ls1 transmissions are different. If your going to swap get EVERYTHING.

  7. #7
    Senior Member INMY01TA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    The great red state of MD.
    Posts
    5,755

    Black
    2001 Trans Am (sold)

    Makes more sense to go LS1. Faster, less leaks, easier to work on, lighter. Jeff at PSI in Glen Burnie put an LS1 in his LT1. He said the swap is easy and has the whole formula down. Tuan (Mean Green Z28) did it too. http://www.freewebs.com/meangreenz28...ndupgrades.htm Contact Jeff at PSI with your questions. He's hard to get on the phone but keep trying. Performance Specialties, Inc.
    410-766-7PSI (410-766-7774)
    550 N. Crain Highway
    Suite #14
    Glen Burnie, Md 21061

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Windows 8 Pro Upgrade: Your FAQs Answered
    By Ed Blown Vert in forum Computers / Gaming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-03-2012, 07:30 AM
  2. need question answered fast.
    By Zboner in forum Internal Engine
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-06-2005, 10:45 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •