Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: MAF going bad?

Bat mobile black
    2000 Trans am WS6 M6

MAF going bad?

I think maybe my MAF might be going bad? But im no expert.. Lately my car has been smelling like gas fumes pretty badly and i couldnt figure out what it is. So this morning i had the bright idea to unplug the MAF and the sensor that goes into the lid, then i went for a few test drives. The car doesnt smell nearly as bad as it did with it plugged in. So u plugged in the sensor for the lid and ran it a few more times.. Still doesnt smell too bad so maybe im thinking my MAF could be throwing off the PCM to dump fuel when there is no need to dump fuel? Any thoughts?
    Also is it bad to drive you car around with the MAF unplugged?

Black & Blue
    '02 WS.6 / '07 Suburban

Any codes?

Bat mobile black
    2000 Trans am WS6 M6

No codes before unplugging and no codes after unplugging

Black & Blue
    '02 WS.6 / '07 Suburban

When you unplug the MAF it sends the system into speed density mode. Airflow is calculated primarily using the MAP sensor. Once the engine is warmed up and goes into closed loop, feedback from the O2 sensors then results in the addition or subtration of fuel. Therefore, air entering the exhaust upstream of the sensors can result in a false lean reading and a call for more fuel. Can you see your fuel trims and O2 data stream with your scanner?

Bat mobile black
    2000 Trans am WS6 M6

Quote Originally Posted by pajeff02 View Post
    When you unplug the MAF it sends the system into speed density mode. Airflow is calculated primarily using the MAP sensor. Once the engine is warmed up and goes into closed loop, feedback from the O2 sensors then results in the addition or subtration of fuel. Therefore, air entering the exhaust upstream of the sensors can result in a false lean reading and a call for more fuel. Can you see your fuel trims and O2 data stream with your scanner?