Black
    1999 Camaro Z28

LS7 intake manifold

I have a 99 Z28. I was looking to do an LS6 intake swap. A guy just told me I could do an LS7 intake swap ( gm part #12569093) and that it is just like the fast manifold, but cheaper. Does this manifold offer as much of a performance gain as the LS6? It has a 90mm throttle body opening, would it be alright to use my stock throttle body?

One other question, can you make a mount for the egr (tap into) on the intake manifolds without factory EGR - the 2000-2002 LS6's and LS7's?

Thanks!

98 Formula
    06 duramax

I read an article last month that stated the LS7 intake was wider than the other LSx intakes due to taller heads on the LS7. I have no first hand experience so don't go by what I say but I would research it before buying one.
    I would also look at the SLP LS6 intake as it already has the EGR provision in it. I just ditched the EGR system altogether but I also don't have E-check's where I live.

Red & Dk Gray
    2002 WS6, '08 G8 GT

Quote Originally Posted by BowtieFever
    I have a 99 Z28. I was looking to do an LS6 intake swap. A guy just told me I could do an LS7 intake swap ( gm part #12569093) and that it is just like the fast manifold, but cheaper. Does this manifold offer as much of a performance gain as the LS6? It has a 90mm throttle body opening, would it be alright to use my stock throttle body?

One other question, can you make a mount for the egr (tap into) on the intake manifolds without factory EGR - the 2000-2002 LS6's and LS7's?

Thanks!
    See this Thread:
    http://www.ls1.com/forums/showthread.php?t=16186

98 Formula
    06 duramax

Quote Originally Posted by RainMan
    Did you happen to catch all of the errors in that article? I caught a couple right away. The first article in the mag had an error in it. It stated the f-body hasn't been made in 7 years. I wasn't impressed with that mag at all and that's probably the last issue I'll be buying.

Red & Dk Gray
    2002 WS6, '08 G8 GT