Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 30

LS7

This is a discussion on LS7 within the General Help forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; Wanting to put a LS7 in my camaro. I want to know how difficult it would be to do so ...

  1. #1
    Factory Freak Mikat1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Upper California
    Posts
    219

    Artic
    2002 Z28

    LS7

    Wanting to put a LS7 in my camaro. I want to know how difficult it would be to do so and if anything would need to be changed. Will the LS7 be a direct replacement for the LS1 since its still a samll block. Any information would be appreciated.

  2. #2
    Impounded
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    SAN FRAN SISCO BABY
    Age
    30
    Posts
    836

    VW BEETLE W/ FLOWER
    88 CRX

    oh dear god no. it would be a nightmare. go LS2/LS6 and make a stroker! much cheaper lol modification too the firewall i think different mounting brackets not sure if the harness would be reusable? (someone help me out) last time i looked that conversion over i remember it being just plane stupid too do.

  3. #3
    Member SScott's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Fairfield
    Posts
    195

    Black
    02 SS #8719

    Quote Originally Posted by TmaxicanA View Post
    oh dear god no. it would be a nightmare. go LS2/LS6 and make a stroker! much cheaper lol modification too the firewall i think different mounting brackets not sure if the harness would be reusable? (someone help me out) last time i looked that conversion over i remember it being just plane stupid too do.

  4. #4
    Slow'er'Ass Mr. Luos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Thornton, CO
    Posts
    23,785

    Red Tint Jewelcoat
    2008 Trailblazer SS

    It isn't a direct replacement...
    But it is very close.

    The LS7 is overpriced for what you get though.

  5. #5
    Firebird Encyclopedia 9T8W66's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    St. Clair Shores. Michigan
    Age
    49
    Posts
    1,605

    Navy Blue Metallic
    `98 Formula M6 HdTp

    Generally it's the same as swapping any other Gen IV Engine into a Gen III car.
    But I'm with the others as in you csn make the same if not more power with a stroker 6.0 for a lot less then the LS7.
    Craig
    Semi Retired Street Racer
    2012 Lava Red Mustang GT Coupe Brembo/3.73's
    Build Date 3/17/11, Last Lava Red GT

    Gone but not forgoten
    NBM `98 Formula M6 HdTp
    1 of 1 Build Date 3/12/98

  6. #6
    King 0f n00bz shady milkman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Shepherd, Michigan
    Age
    29
    Posts
    11,775

    blacker than wesleysnipes
    98' trans am

    you would need to get a reluctor wheel adapter. extensions for your knock sensors and cam sensors etc. it isnt too bad of a swap. you are looking at probably around 500-750 extra dollars to adapt everything.. ls3s and such will be around 300-500.

  7. #7
    Junior Rocketeer jimmi7769's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Russiaville, Indiana, United S
    Posts
    186

    Sunset Orange
    2001 Z28

    GMHTP did an article on a LS7 swap into a camaro in a past issue.
    But the above guys are right, for the $15 grand you'll spend on an LS7 you can get much more from just building out one that will just swap right in.

  8. #8
    autoconnectionllc.com 02transamce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Montgomery,Ala
    Posts
    2,436

    2007 Corvette
    Ebony

    Scoggin-Dickey has a ls376 crate engine with hotcam that produces 480 horsepower for less than $7000.I image with headers and some tuning it could get a little closer to ls7 horsepower for half the price.
    Posted via Mobile Device

  9. #9
    Smiles for 9.5 Years cammed goat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Paterson/Ridgewood, NJ
    Posts
    11,474

    Phantom Black Metallic
    2004 GTO M6

    The oil pan would have to be replaced as well since the LS7 is dry-sump.

  10. #10
    Your dealership guy konigandy6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Romeo, MI
    Posts
    6,557

    Velocity Yellow
    2008 Corvette Z06

    Quote Originally Posted by cammed goat View Post
    The oil pan would have to be replaced as well since the LS7 is dry-sump.
    Plus if I'm not mistaken, all the GenIV LS motors are electronic throttle, and not cable driven. Probably something small to worry about but still a PITA.

    2008 Z06 - Velocity Yellow - OEM

    2017 Silverado Z71 5.3 - OEM

    2002 Z06 - Electron Blue Metallic - D1 - E85 - 701 rwhp 687 rwtq **sold**

    2002 Z28: M6 NBM - cam and boltons - 396rwhp 357 rwtq **sold**

  11. #11
    King 0f n00bz shady milkman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Shepherd, Michigan
    Age
    29
    Posts
    11,775

    blacker than wesleysnipes
    98' trans am

    Quote Originally Posted by konigandy6 View Post
    Plus if I'm not mistaken, all the GenIV LS motors are electronic throttle, and not cable driven. Probably something small to worry about but still a PITA.
    a nw or fast tb is all that is needed.

  12. #12
    Your dealership guy konigandy6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Romeo, MI
    Posts
    6,557

    Velocity Yellow
    2008 Corvette Z06

    Quote Originally Posted by shady milkman View Post
    a nw or fast tb is all that is needed.
    Assuming with a new wiring harness?

  13. #13
    King 0f n00bz shady milkman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Shepherd, Michigan
    Age
    29
    Posts
    11,775

    blacker than wesleysnipes
    98' trans am

    Quote Originally Posted by cammed goat View Post
    The oil pan would have to be replaced as well since the LS7 is dry-sump.
    they offer crate ls7s with a shorter snout and a wet sump set up. if he were to get a ls7 out of a vette...it should come with the dry sump system already and should be able to be "bolted" in no problem.

  14. #14
    King 0f n00bz shady milkman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Shepherd, Michigan
    Age
    29
    Posts
    11,775

    blacker than wesleysnipes
    98' trans am

    Quote Originally Posted by konigandy6 View Post
    Assuming with a new wiring harness?
    why would you need a new harness ?

  15. #15
    Smiles for 9.5 Years cammed goat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Paterson/Ridgewood, NJ
    Posts
    11,474

    Phantom Black Metallic
    2004 GTO M6

    There are companies that make throttlebodies for the LS2 and up to convert from drive-by-wire to cable throttle.

  16. #16
    Your dealership guy konigandy6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Romeo, MI
    Posts
    6,557

    Velocity Yellow
    2008 Corvette Z06

    Quote Originally Posted by shady milkman View Post
    why would you need a new harness ?
    This

    Quote Originally Posted by cammed goat View Post
    There are companies that make throttlebodies for the LS2 and up to convert from drive-by-wire to cable throttle.
    I see... never ran across that before, but good to know.

  17. #17
    Smiles for 9.5 Years cammed goat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Paterson/Ridgewood, NJ
    Posts
    11,474

    Phantom Black Metallic
    2004 GTO M6

    Yah. When I used to post on another forum, there were LS2 GTO owners who had issues with their cars "launching" upon turning off their traction control and they found the cable throttlebody and retrofitted them onto the LS2 to have a normal, cable activated car.

  18. #18
    King 0f n00bz shady milkman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Shepherd, Michigan
    Age
    29
    Posts
    11,775

    blacker than wesleysnipes
    98' trans am

    Quote Originally Posted by konigandy6 View Post
    This
    but if it is going into a camaro..it already has the cable set up there..so it shouldnt be a issue

  19. #19
    Your dealership guy konigandy6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Romeo, MI
    Posts
    6,557

    Velocity Yellow
    2008 Corvette Z06

    Quote Originally Posted by shady milkman View Post
    but if it is going into a camaro..it already has the cable set up there..so it shouldnt be a issue
    Right, what I was questioning was the drive by cable to drive by wire set up. I didn't realize it was as easy as a TB swap and conversion kit. I thought you had to replace the wiring harness. As I mentioned, I'm no expert, I've never run across this before. Just my silly ole assumptions

    And by "this" I meant Cammed goat answered my question.

  20. #20
    Factory Freak Mikat1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Upper California
    Posts
    219

    Artic
    2002 Z28

    At the price I'm getting it for... which you wouldn't believe. I just want to know how much extra I would have to spend. That's all. Thanks for the input thus far folks
    Last edited by Mikat1; 08-09-2010 at 05:48 PM.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •