Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

LS1 Throttle body

This is a discussion on LS1 Throttle body within the General Help forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; Hey, since I am new to this. Does anyone know if I need the screen on the tb. Will it ...

Silver & Blue
    02 Camaro SS, 04 GTO

Hey, since I am new to this. Does anyone know if I need the screen on the tb. Will it help airflow? Does it block stuff that gets past the airfilter ? How often should I clean my maf ?

Black/ Silver
    98 TA WS6/ 01 C5 Corvette

Quote Originally Posted by 2002ssslp View Post
    Hey, since I am new to this. Does anyone know if I need the screen on the tb. Will it help airflow? Does it block stuff that gets past the airfilter ? How often should I clean my maf ?
    Do you mean the screen on the maf? The TB doesn't have a screen. You don't need the screen on the maf, many jump on the band wagon and say you do but in my experience you don't (but you probably should have the pcm tuned for it). The real reason for the screen is to straighten out airflow, not to prevent debris from entering the intake, as that is the air filter's job.
    1998 Trans Am WS6 - Phantom
    421 CI LQ9, Tick Performance Custom Cam, TFS 255cc LS3 heads, Kooks 2" LT headers, Kooks 3" True Duals w/ high flow cats, FTP 104 lid, Speed Density Tune, 4" silicon tube, LS6 VCT, FAST 102 Intake, NW 102 TB, Oil Catch Can, SLP Bilstein Shocks w/ Vogtland Springs, CTS-V 4-piston Calipers w/C6 Z06 rotors, Stainless Steel Brake Lines, R1 concepts premium rotors, Hawk HP+ brake pads, VFN WSQ Hood, C5-R timing chain, SLP oil pump, E85 tune, Walbro 450 fuel pump, Deatschwerkz 95# injectors, Breathless performance headlights, Frost Tune, !HVAC.
    (Coming Soon) BMR DSL, UMI TQ Arm
    421 LQ9 14.8:1 on E85 Build/

Silver & Blue
    02 Camaro SS, 04 GTO