Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Silver & Blue
    02 Camaro SS, 04 GTO

LS1 Throttle body

I need some advice. I do not feel I am getting the proper performance from my stock throttle body. I do not think the throttle is open all the way at WOT and I think with the mild mods I have it may be time to think about an upgrade. What is the deal with the coolant line, do I need that ? How big should I go with a mostly stock motor ? Do I need to reprogram my computer, it is going to Frost this week. what should I know about the swap.
    Thanks for the help. I am a rookie at this Chevy thing having been a Mopar guy most of my life.
    2002 Maro SS with SLP airbox, bellows, MAF, K&N, headers, 3" center exhaust, iridium plugs.

Mean Black
    1998 Trans Am

what makes you think the TB is not working properly? To my knowledge the stock TB is good up to 500 HP. Alot of members port and polish their TB. they say it gives them a quicker response in acceleration. You don't need the coolant line so you can bypass it.

Silver & Blue
    02 Camaro SS, 04 GTO

I am a carb guy and this is just a gut feeling. I do feel the snap is crisp at WOT but I am always worried about the throttle stop not allowing true WOT. Too much time tuning Holley's and Deamon carbs I guess. So you feel I should stay with the 800cfm stock TB ?

Navy Blue Metallic
    98 T/A w/ mods, 00 FBVert

Like Jay said, a lot of us stay with a P&P stock TB, If you have/or are going to a FAST 102 then you need to consider going with a bigger TB.

You sluggishness might be from your MAF needing a cleaning.

Do you run a K&N type air filter? If so the oils are affecting the MAF. Get some MAF cleaner and clean it. I do mine monthly.

When you say mild mods, what are they?

Silver & Blue
    02 Camaro SS, 04 GTO