Results 1 to 12 of 12

LQ Motor Work?

This is a discussion on LQ Motor Work? within the General Help forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; Sorry if this is the wrong section. I have a 01' WS-6 Trans Am M-6 that had the roller part ...

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    40

    Pewter
    2001 Trans Am WS-6

    LQ Motor Work?

    Sorry if this is the wrong section. I have a 01' WS-6 Trans Am M-6 that had the roller part of a lifter basically lose a 1/4 of it in the motor. Was wanting to save the motor if possible, but seems unlikely considering the amount of metal that has gone through it. I found an company that has several variations of LQ4 (or LQ9, not sure) motors, with HP varying from 405 up to over 500. I'm content with the 405 hp (iron block) and speaking with the rep, he says I'd need to drill a hole to mount the alternator and get a dyno tune, but everything else otherwise would bolt up and work.

    Does this sound correct to you guys? Has anyone tried one of these motors in their cars before? I understand it is a truck motor (the LQ9) in the Escalade, but there's no replacement for displacement and that rating is pretty nice!

  2. #2
    Senior Member tatertot91's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Coral Springs, Fl
    Posts
    5,773

    Sunset Orange Metalic
    2001 Camaro SS

    Shouldn't have to drill anything. Your accessories should replace those on the iron block to make it a fairly easy swap. Tune will be necessary though

  3. #3
    Junior Member bluonblk99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    cincinnati
    Age
    29
    Posts
    86

    black/viper blue
    99 WS6 M6

    i have a 99 T/A that the lifter did the same thing but the lifter ate the lifter bore in the ls1. so i bought an lq9 which was a gm test engine. it only had 100 miles on it. there is a boss on the engine that you must drill and tap to mount the alternator but that is it. everything else is the same. my ls1 was stock and so was the 6.0 and the stock computer ran it fine.

  4. #4
    Member My00Z28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Holland, MI/Lima, OH
    Age
    26
    Posts
    822

    Red
    2000 Camaro Z28 A4

    Quote Originally Posted by bluonblk99 View Post
    i have a 99 T/A that the lifter did the same thing but the lifter ate the lifter bore in the ls1. so i bought an lq9 which was a gm test engine. it only had 100 miles on it. there is a boss on the engine that you must drill and tap to mount the alternator but that is it. everything else is the same. my ls1 was stock and so was the 6.0 and the stock computer ran it fine.
    ^thats correct i have an lq4 block sitting in my garage right now!!!

  5. #5
    Junior Member bluonblk99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    cincinnati
    Age
    29
    Posts
    86

    black/viper blue
    99 WS6 M6

    but with 405 hp the motor at least has a cam in it so the computer will have to be tuned

  6. #6
    Senior Member tatertot91's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Coral Springs, Fl
    Posts
    5,773

    Sunset Orange Metalic
    2001 Camaro SS

    Quote Originally Posted by My00Z28 View Post
    ^thats correct i have an lq4 block sitting in my garage right now!!!
    Didn't know that
    learn something new every day

  7. #7
    Junior Member bluonblk99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    cincinnati
    Age
    29
    Posts
    86

    black/viper blue
    99 WS6 M6

    you will have to use your stock oil pan too idk if the crate motor will come with a truck pan or not just thought i would let you know.
    slp lid, lq9 6.0, ls6 heads, 228/230 .585 cam, comp springs, pp ls2 96mm typhoon intake, holley 90mm tb, ls3 injectors, ps long tubes, ory pipe, borla cat back, eibach sportline springs, spohn lower control arms, speed density tune, c6 zo6 wheels

  8. #8
    Moderator Cutlass's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    6,996

    1999 Formula WS6 M6-sold
    2001 Silverado Z71

    I've read there can be some issues with getting a T56 manual trans to work with some LQ4/LQ9s, but I can't find the exact info. I believe there is something different with the rear of the crank the doesn't work with the pilot bearing or something. Hopefully the company setting you up with the LQx knows this and is giving you the correct crankshaft that'll work with the T56

  9. #9
    Member My00Z28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Holland, MI/Lima, OH
    Age
    26
    Posts
    822

    Red
    2000 Camaro Z28 A4

    Quote Originally Posted by Cutlass View Post
    I've read there can be some issues with getting a T56 manual trans to work with some LQ4/LQ9s, but I can't find the exact info. I believe there is something different with the rear of the crank the doesn't work with the pilot bearing or something. Hopefully the company setting you up with the LQx knows this and is giving you the correct crankshaft that'll work with the T56
    ^ this is ture but i think its only on the "older" LQ engines like 99-01 or something!

  10. #10
    Junior Member bluonblk99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    cincinnati
    Age
    29
    Posts
    86

    black/viper blue
    99 WS6 M6

    that idk my motor is an 04 all i had to do was put a pilot bearing in and that was it so you might want to check up on that.

  11. #11
    Junior Member bluonblk99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    cincinnati
    Age
    29
    Posts
    86

    black/viper blue
    99 WS6 M6

    i havealways heard the older 6.0s had issues but im not for sure what they were.

  12. #12
    The Generals Finest Deviant LS1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Tampa
    Posts
    136

    Navy Blue Metallic
    2000 Trans Am

    01 and earlier have a different length crank hub in the rear. You can't run a manual transmission behind it as the flywheel and starter will not align.

    With an LQ4 and LQ9 you have to drill and tap a hole for your alternator. You have to run your LS1 oil pan and pick up on it along with the rest of your accessories and intake setup. Essentially you're just using the block.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Help: passenger headlamp motor won't work.
    By TransAmFanatic in forum General Help
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 09-12-2014, 03:08 AM
  2. Anyone ride a Bike? (Bicycle no motor) to work ?
    By eddielb in forum Western Members
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 07-20-2008, 08:43 PM
  3. Reinstalled Headlight motor doesn't work
    By GottaHaveLS1 in forum General Help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-21-2007, 02:05 PM
  4. what do i need to have a th400 tc work behind a ls motor
    By linkandcuff in forum Automatic Transmission
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-12-2007, 02:55 PM
  5. Replies: 20
    Last Post: 08-24-2007, 06:57 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •