Results 1 to 15 of 15

Line Lock

This is a discussion on Line Lock within the General Help forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; I have linelock installed on my car. The hardware, solenoid, shifter button, etc is present. I recently went to the ...

  1. #1
    Member herculesrider1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    TX
    Posts
    504

    Red
    '00 TransAm RamAir WS6 M6

    Line Lock

    I have linelock installed on my car. The hardware, solenoid, shifter button, etc is present. I recently went to the stealership and got them to diagnose the no starting issue and in the process, they disconnected the linelock. Could someone help me reconnect it? I looked under the hood and saw two wires coming from the firewall that I think go to the brake solenoid or battery....Here's what I have: Button on the shifter, on/off switch in the ashtray, solenoid mounted near the brake distribution block. If someone could tell me the electrical way to hook this back up, given what I have, I would really appreciate it.

  2. #2
    NASCAR Go Fast, Turn Left ntimid8r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    8,048

    383 w/Meth & ProCharger
    2001 Camaro Z28

    There's only a 12v source input and a ground in the electrical setup. If you can trace those down to make sure they're both connected to something, well to the correct place I should say. Also trace the wires to the button to make sure they're connected. If you have a voltmeter to ohm out the wires, that would help a ton. Here's a link I found which isn't 4th gen fbody specific but regardless, it's all the same. Take a look at that and see if it helps you any.
    Click here

  3. #3
    Member herculesrider1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    TX
    Posts
    504

    Red
    '00 TransAm RamAir WS6 M6

    Thanks Intimidator, that was very helpful.

  4. #4
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,519

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    the slp line lock pulls power from the block on the drivers side right by the fuse boxes. It grounds under the dash I believe.

  5. #5
    NASCAR Go Fast, Turn Left ntimid8r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    8,048

    383 w/Meth & ProCharger
    2001 Camaro Z28

    Quote Originally Posted by herculesrider1 View Post
    Thanks Intimidator, that was very helpful.
    You're most welcome. Post back to let us know the status.

  6. #6
    NASCAR Go Fast, Turn Left ntimid8r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    8,048

    383 w/Meth & ProCharger
    2001 Camaro Z28

    Quote Originally Posted by 0rion View Post
    the slp line lock pulls power from the block on the drivers side right by the fuse boxes. It grounds under the dash I believe.
    Did you just look under your hood? I have the SLP line lock as well. It's been a while since I looked at my hookup...but yeah I remember getting the 12v from next to the fuse box and think I found a ground close by as well.

  7. #7
    Member herculesrider1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    TX
    Posts
    504

    Red
    '00 TransAm RamAir WS6 M6

    Ok, I will let y'all know when I diagnose the setup and get it hooked back up. Thanks for all the info.

  8. #8
    Member herculesrider1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    TX
    Posts
    504

    Red
    '00 TransAm RamAir WS6 M6

    Anyone who has linelock hooked up, what size fuse do you put inline to the power line?

  9. #9
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,519

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    man......I don't remember but for some reason I think it was a 15 amp. Hold on, I have a picture on here somewhere of my install that might show it.

  10. #10
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,519

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    nevermind....that was the wideband install I was thinking of.

  11. #11
    expensive tires az gt eater's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    phoenix
    Posts
    1,951

    white
    04 2500 4x4 crew cab

    You shouldn't go bigger than 15. my .02

  12. #12
    Member herculesrider1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    TX
    Posts
    504

    Red
    '00 TransAm RamAir WS6 M6

    Thanks man, thought it might be a 15, but just wanted to be sure. Thanks again.

  13. #13
    Super Moderator
    pajeff02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Mansfield, PA
    Posts
    21,567

    Black & Blue
    '02 WS.6 / '07 Suburban

    I believe my SLP Line Lock came with a 10 amp fuse. I would have to look to be certain though.

  14. #14
    Member herculesrider1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    TX
    Posts
    504

    Red
    '00 TransAm RamAir WS6 M6

    Let me know Jeff. Thanks

  15. #15
    Super Moderator
    pajeff02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Mansfield, PA
    Posts
    21,567

    Black & Blue
    '02 WS.6 / '07 Suburban

    10 amps it is.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Question: line lock
    By jodmari in forum General Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-07-2015, 07:21 AM
  2. line lock
    By JunkyardZ in forum General Help
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-27-2012, 05:19 AM
  3. Line Lock Look
    By pajeff02 in forum General Help
    Replies: 37
    Last Post: 11-04-2010, 10:16 AM
  4. SLP line lock *NIB*
    By Packy in forum Parts For Sale / Trade
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-31-2009, 03:02 PM
  5. Line lock/ brake line ?
    By 2001z in forum Suspension and Handling
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-01-2007, 06:42 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •