Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: lifter noise

black
    2002 camaro ss m6

lifter noise

Hi ,I am new to the LS-1 form ..I recentely bought a 2002 camaro SS , black 6 speed .t-top .leather with very low mileage ,,7400km about 4600 miles ..Car is basically like in every way..mint condition..The only problem I have with it .there is some lifter ticking noice when cold that goes away after it warms up..But recently I changed the oil to Mobile1 10W 30 synthetic because I had read a lot about thicker oils and decided to try it..The thicking then became worst and only decreased slightly on warm up..So then out comes that oil and I put in GC 0w 30 ..Thicking now when cold and even on warm start up for about 10-15 seconds..Is there any other oil you guys would recomend that helps this problem ..I don't want to change lifters unless it gets a lot worst..Also there is a slight shutter in the engine when idling ,there all the time .no check engine light on ...Thanks for any help you can give me ..Rick

victory red
    2007 zo6

first put in correct oil !! in our cars it's mobil 5w-30, and use correct factory ac delco/ oil filter... all our ls engines have some tick on cold start up, and every body i know, has some.!!. our cars are 2009 zr1 300 miles /2007 zo6 800 miles/ my 2008 ss v8 impala ss 26,000 miles/ daughters 2006 monte carlo ss v8 - just turned 100,000 miles last week, all her miles are on the highway.. impala and monte, make it 5,000 miles ,oil change /filter and tire rotations.. i sometimes have to add 1/2/3/4 quart of oil to impala..rkvette

black
    2002 camaro ss m6

Angry