Results 1 to 12 of 12

Installing oil pressure sensor

This is a discussion on Installing oil pressure sensor within the General Help forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; Anyone ever replace the oil pressure sensor without removing the intake ? I would like to know how long it ...

  1. #1
    Junior Member 87grand's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Sugar Land, Tx
    Posts
    7

    White
    98 Z28 M6

    Installing oil pressure sensor

    Anyone ever replace the oil pressure sensor without removing the intake ? I would like to know how long it took and which tools you used.

  2. #2
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,520

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    I just don't see how anyone with a decent sized hand could do this with the intake on there. Now maybe if you have really really small hands you *might* be able to do it but I wouldn't want to. GM basically put razor wire on the bottom side of the cowl from what I can gather and that cowl will chew the back of your hand up.

    Pulling the intake really isn't a tough job at all. I've had mine off and on a few times and it takes me just a few minutes to get the intake off. I'd say if it's your first time you can probably do it in 30-40 minutes. It's a pretty easy job.

    As far as the sensor I forget the actual size of it. I know there's a special socket you can buy for it as I bought it for mine. On my buddies vette we used a stubby opened end wrench but I can't remember the size of it. 15/16" maybe but don't quote me on that.

  3. #3
    Junior Member 87grand's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Sugar Land, Tx
    Posts
    7

    White
    98 Z28 M6

    Ok, I'll check into pulling the intake.

    Thanks, James

  4. #4
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,520

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    go to ls1howto.com and look at the ls6 intake swap. That will give you a step by step on removing the intake. You won't even have to do gaskets.

  5. #5
    Junior Member 87grand's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Sugar Land, Tx
    Posts
    7

    White
    98 Z28 M6

    Thats a good mod, buy a used ls6 intake and kill two birds at the same time.

  6. #6
    Blown, Stroked, & Sprayed

    Ed Blown Vert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    San Diego, Ca
    Posts
    50,747

    Black
    383 Procharged & N20 Vert

    I am able to get the sensor out without pulling the intake.

    Took me about 5 minutes.

  7. #7
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,520

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    yep, my ls6 intake mod led to me pulling it again to replace the oil pressure sensor that I broke during the swap.

  8. #8
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,520

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    Quote Originally Posted by Ed Blown Vert View Post
    I am able to get the sensor out without pulling the intake.

    Took me about 5 minutes.
    you must have some small hands.... I can barely touch it.

  9. #9
    Blown, Stroked, & Sprayed

    Ed Blown Vert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    San Diego, Ca
    Posts
    50,747

    Black
    383 Procharged & N20 Vert

    Normal size. Maybe my engine sits lower.

  10. #10
    Junior Member Khaotic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    warrenton, va
    Posts
    51

    Red
    2000 SS Camaro

    socket

    You will need a 1 1/16 deep socket made for the sender Autozone sales then for $12. it is a extra deep well socket makes life alot easier cause they do break easy if your not carefull.

  11. #11
    Junior Member 87grand's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Sugar Land, Tx
    Posts
    7

    White
    98 Z28 M6

    Khaotic and Ed Brown Vert, tell me exactly which tools you used besides the special socket. I can barely get the socket onto the sensor. But, I did , used an 3 " extension and small rachet, but couldn"t break it loose, because not enought room back there.
    Last edited by 87grand; 08-16-2008 at 06:32 AM.

  12. #12
    Blown, Stroked, & Sprayed

    Ed Blown Vert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    San Diego, Ca
    Posts
    50,747

    Black
    383 Procharged & N20 Vert

    My engine must sit lower.

    I drop the socket over the sensor. Used a 1/2 in rachet to break it loose.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Help: Installing a throttle position sensor
    By 454transam in forum External Engine
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-03-2010, 12:43 AM
  2. Knock Sensor/Oil Pressure Sensor Issue
    By Slow '99 in forum External Engine
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-04-2007, 09:28 AM
  3. Help Installing Fuel Pressure Gauge...
    By Blown Interceptor in forum Western Members
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 03-22-2007, 06:23 PM
  4. Installing Oil Pressure guage
    By Wheeler99WS6 in forum General Help
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 03-19-2007, 12:00 AM
  5. Installing Oil Pressure guage
    By Wheeler99WS6 in forum Firebird / WS6
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-19-2006, 02:47 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •