Results 1 to 11 of 11

Installing Oil Pressure guage

This is a discussion on Installing Oil Pressure guage within the General Help forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; I got an Autometer Phantom Oil pressure gauge (electric/full sweep). Anyone install one of these? I understand that I need ...

  1. #1
    Senior Member Wheeler99WS6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    indiana
    Age
    34
    Posts
    1,018

    black, 05 Roush
    black, 99 T/A WS.6

    Installing Oil Pressure guage

    I got an Autometer Phantom Oil pressure gauge (electric/full sweep). Anyone install one of these? I understand that I need to connect positive wire to a 12v dashlight wire somewhere for the light bulb, any tips on that?

    Grounding it will be easy enough.

    Now the signal wire I am lost on. I need all the advice I can get on that one.
    Last edited by Wheeler99WS6; 11-18-2006 at 06:09 PM. Reason: mix up

  2. #2
    Nitrous Tuner LS2Tuner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    WestCoast AZ-CALI
    Posts
    4,763

    Silver
    05 Goat SMASHED

    Yeah the signal wire needs to go to the sender that came with the guage......
    The positive wire needs to get 3M T-tap splice into any other dash light...... If you can't figure that oiut you can just hook it up to a 12v source that comes on with the key....The only difference will be the light will always be on with the key.
    GoodLuck......
    Hope I Helped.
    Don't be afraid of the bottle!!! Be afraid of your tune!!!

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    215
    As for the 12 volt to the gauge, use the same supply that goes to your other gauges. It can be found by looking at your fuse block. I pulled my fuse block forward and used a wire tap. The a-pillar gauges now come on, go off and follow the dimmer just like the in-dash lights.

  4. #4
    Grand Imperial Wizard Sarge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Texas Department of Corrections
    Posts
    18,123
    Retired Outlaw Sum Bitch

    Good advise above...the sending unit will have a terminal that you connect to....the "light" wire you can use anything from an ashtray light (if you have it) to any of the dash lights....then of course the ground....one thing I would also add is dont use teflon tape...use teflon paste in a tube on your sending unit threads....fricking tape seems to always appear in our oil and that is a bad thing...

  5. #5
    Senior Member Wheeler99WS6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    indiana
    Age
    34
    Posts
    1,018

    black, 05 Roush
    black, 99 T/A WS.6

    Where do I hook up the sender unit? is there an auxillary port on the block somewhere?

  6. #6
    Grand Imperial Wizard Sarge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Texas Department of Corrections
    Posts
    18,123
    Retired Outlaw Sum Bitch

    Lemme see...99...LS1....should be a port right above your oil filter....look on the block...do you see a lil 3/8" plug there above or on the side of where your oil filter screws on?

  7. #7
    Senior Member Wheeler99WS6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    indiana
    Age
    34
    Posts
    1,018

    black, 05 Roush
    black, 99 T/A WS.6

    ok should I worry about losing a large amout of oil when I take the plug out?

  8. #8
    Grand Imperial Wizard Sarge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Texas Department of Corrections
    Posts
    18,123
    Retired Outlaw Sum Bitch

    Not really....no pressure on it.....but good excuse to change it

  9. #9
    Senior Member Wheeler99WS6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    indiana
    Age
    34
    Posts
    1,018

    black, 05 Roush
    black, 99 T/A WS.6

    just had it changed about 600-800 miles ago.

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    texas
    Posts
    96

    red
    1998 chevy camaro ss

    is this the oil sending unit u guys r talking about. is it hard to change? hope it solves my low oil psi problem.

  11. #11
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,468

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    The sending unit is on the rear drivers side of the block. Look just to the left of your brake booster and behind the intake. The intake has to come off to change it but it's an easy job. I'd much rather pull these intakes than some of the older cars. Clean and easy. Look at ls1howto.com for the ls6 intake swap for a step by step write up on pulling the intake. I haven't timed myself but I bet I can have one off and back on in 30 minutes or less.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •