Black
    1999 Trans Am M6

I need your input on my fuel problem

My dad brought my car to the dealership today and surprisingly got some free advice for what could be wrong with my car. I'm getting 25 psi at the rail and i've already replaced the fuel pump and fuel filter... so we're trying to narrow it down more and finally fix this sun'bitch.

The tech at the dealership said that LS1 f bodies don't come with Fuel pressure regulators, but with a fuel pressure sensor that's attached to the top of the tank. He said if it was malfunctioning, it could limit fuel pressure. He said another possibility could be the fuel tank vent selenoid malfunctioning. do any of you guys know anything about these two devices? any advice is much appreciated.

NBM
    2000 Trans Am Ws6 #2946

I'm no expert, but there is a lot online here so do a search. Assuming you checked your filter, you might be looking at dropping your tank to check the pump. I believe the regulator is in the tank. When do you see 25 psi, the entire time?

I thought I needed a new pump awhile back, but turned out to be a problem with my MAF making me lean at WOT.

Silver
    2000 Trans Am

Unscrew the filter and check pressure there.Then you will know if it's something in the tank or up at the rail. If you suspect a vent solenoid (which I doubt it is) just unscrew the gas cap and see if you gain pressure. Does the car run? (It shouldn't on 25 psi)

White
    1998 Trans Am

Might be a kink in the fuel line from the previous replacement. That happened to mine...

Black
    1999 Trans Am M6

Quote Originally Posted by 666ws6 View Post
    I'm no expert, but there is a lot online here so do a search. Assuming you checked your filter, you might be looking at dropping your tank to check the pump. I believe the regulator is in the tank. When do you see 25 psi, the entire time?

I thought I needed a new pump awhile back, but turned out to be a problem with my MAF making me lean at WOT.