red
    1999 trans am

Lightbulb I need Trans Am help!!!

hey hey everyone, I'm really new to this, but I know that you guys know alot more about this than I do... I just bought a '99 T/A (A4) with 95K miles. I've already added a Volant Cold air intake, upgraded the plugs/wires, and dumped the exhaust right before the rear axle. I am looking around the dallas area for a speed shop to have the engine upgraded, tuned with the new parts, and dynoed. I need some advice on what should be done. Also, this car is my daily driver so mpg is a huge factor.
    1) what would be the best cam/ head package that would maximize power and mpg without having to change the stall converter? Any tried and true brands to shop for? and what kind of numbers could I expect from this upgrade?
    2) I know long tube headers are the way to go, at what point do I look into a "knock eliminator"? and what headers are preferred?
    3)Is a LS6 intake worth the money?
    4)while I'm in the motor, would a new pulley set be worth the effort? and a LS2 timing chain, LS6 oil pump?
    5)ideas on what kind of 75-150hp wet nitrous setup I should invest in?
    6)anyone know of a good place to find a fully functional WS6 hood (outside of spending 1400 bucks) there are a few cheapo ones on ebay, but none seem to be functional, and i don't really trust those hoods fitting too well
    7)any ideas for a decent looking ratchet shifter for this car?

Sorry to post so many questions, I'm pretty much starting from scratch here...

Miss Pennsylvania ls1blackbeauty98's Avatar

'98 Black Gone :(
    01 WS6 Midnight Blue

first, mpg and cam/heads package doesnt go together, if you wanna do these things to your car forget about gas mileage. you can find a good ws6 hood at ws6store.com thats where im looking to get mine, i believe its 580$ functional/ready to paint. The ls6 intake is worth the money, thats one of the first things id do.

Life in the Fast lane sunsetorangess's Avatar

Met. Sunset Orange
    01 SS