Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 21 to 38 of 38

How to connect air/fuel ratio gauge?

This is a discussion on How to connect air/fuel ratio gauge? within the General Help forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; Originally Posted by blkSS98 If I buy the AEM Wideband that comes with a gauge and only one sensor, can ...

  1. #21
    TunedbyFrost.com Tuner Frost's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Richmond VA
    Posts
    2,415

    LS1.com Sponsor
    GM Tuner

    Quote Originally Posted by blkSS98 View Post
    If I buy the AEM Wideband that comes with a gauge and only one sensor, can I put it in place of one of my rears o2's and plug the other one. Then have my o2's deleted from my computer, or would it be better to put the wideband in the y-pipe? I really like the aem gauge/sensor combo, but I don't think it will work w/ one sensor for each bank.
    Sure you can do that. If the rear O2s have been deleted in the PCM, there is no need to even have them on the car. In the wideband section I have bungs and plugs, you can get a plug to seal the hole up from the other rear O2 that the wideband isn't using. You can also have a bung welded in if you prefer.

  2. #22
    Sold: LS1 '85 El Camino ls1camino's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Laurel, Maryland
    Posts
    4,977

    2000 Grand Prix GTP
    2000 Trans Am WS6 M6

    So if they're deleted from the computer, they will still be able to be plugged into the socket and then run the A/F Guage off of it?

  3. #23
    Carless blkSS98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Eastsound, WA
    Age
    37
    Posts
    410
    Frost,
    Do both banks of cylinders run at the same a/f ratio? So the one guage/sensor would be adequate for both banks?

  4. #24
    Slow'er'Ass Mr. Luos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Thornton, CO
    Posts
    23,785

    Red Tint Jewelcoat
    2008 Trailblazer SS

    Quote Originally Posted by blkSS98 View Post
    Frost,
    Do both banks of cylinders run at the same a/f ratio? So the one guage/sensor would be adequate for both banks?
    They do not.
    But by rights, they should be very close to each other.

    When I finally get a wideband in my car, it will be reading Bank #1.


    Quote Originally Posted by ls1camino View Post
    So if they're deleted from the computer, they will still be able to be plugged into the socket and then run the A/F Guage off of it?
    Which type of A/F gauge?

  5. #25
    Track Whore 570SX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Central Florida
    Age
    32
    Posts
    63
    1989 Nissan 570SX

    Quote Originally Posted by blkSS98 View Post
    Frost,
    Do both banks of cylinders run at the same a/f ratio? So the one guage/sensor would be adequate for both banks?
    well, yes, but a wideband EGO sensor is not just a tuning tool, but also a warning device, like an oil pressure gauge. it helps you see a problem right when it happens so you can shut it down and correct before you cause more damage. so in that sense, one in each bank would be much preferable.

    that said, i will be installing only one sensor, since i still have it laying around from an old project car of mine that is now gone. but i will install it behind the Y in the exhaust, so that i will have some detection capability for problems in both banks, not just one bank.

    oh, and those ~$50 AFR gauges are only good for a little ricer light show in the dash. totally useless for anything, *especially* tuning.
    ~Jason
    2005 Acura RSX: Daily Driver duties
    1994 Toyota Corolla: the beater that just won't die!
    "Fast, Cheap, Reliable. You can only have two."

  6. #26
    Sold: LS1 '85 El Camino ls1camino's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Laurel, Maryland
    Posts
    4,977

    2000 Grand Prix GTP
    2000 Trans Am WS6 M6

    Quote Originally Posted by Mr. Luos View Post
    Which type of A/F gauge?
    Auto Meter Wideband

  7. #27
    Slow'er'Ass Mr. Luos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Thornton, CO
    Posts
    23,785

    Red Tint Jewelcoat
    2008 Trailblazer SS

    Quote Originally Posted by ls1camino View Post
    Auto Meter Wideband
    A wideband is a different type of sensor. Still looks similiar to a stock piece, but you can't use a stock O2 to run a wideband.

    Now, the wideband sensor should fit in the rear O2 bung. As long as you don't have cats, it will be accurate.

  8. #28
    Sold: LS1 '85 El Camino ls1camino's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Laurel, Maryland
    Posts
    4,977

    2000 Grand Prix GTP
    2000 Trans Am WS6 M6


  9. #29
    Slow'er'Ass Mr. Luos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Thornton, CO
    Posts
    23,785

    Red Tint Jewelcoat
    2008 Trailblazer SS

    Quote Originally Posted by ls1camino View Post
    That is a narrowband.
    Basicly just a light show.

    If you connect it, you want to tap into the front O2. I would recommend using the little pigtail thing LMperformance has. Those O2 wires are picky as hell when it comes to the proper resistance.
    http://www.lmperformance.com/2602/1.html

  10. #30
    Member devil6rr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    440

    SOM / NBM
    2002 Pro Z28/2001 TurboTA

    Exclamation

    sorry to bring up old threads but i need to install a AEM wideband on a 02 z28 but i have cats and if i remember correctly it said sensor must be before cats to get a accurate reading, anyone been through this B4????

  11. #31
    TunedbyFrost.com Tuner Frost's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Richmond VA
    Posts
    2,415

    LS1.com Sponsor
    GM Tuner

    Quote Originally Posted by devil6rr View Post
    sorry to bring up old threads but i need to install a AEM wideband on a 02 z28 but i have cats and if i remember correctly it said sensor must be before cats to get a accurate reading, anyone been through this B4????
    before is better... since you can't actually run without any of your 4 sensors (need the two upline, and if you pull a rear you will set codes for the cats)
    Last edited by 0rion; 08-08-2009 at 12:02 AM.

  12. #32
    Grand Imperial Wizard Sarge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Texas Department of Corrections
    Posts
    18,129
    Retired Outlaw Sum Bitch

    Yup^^^

  13. #33
    Member devil6rr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    440

    SOM / NBM
    2002 Pro Z28/2001 TurboTA

    ok thanks and would either side matter? and arent the cats way up like in front of the tranny? if i remember correctly dont think theres much room for welding in a bung.

  14. #34
    Member devil6rr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    440

    SOM / NBM
    2002 Pro Z28/2001 TurboTA

    Question

    bump

  15. #35
    Member afattitude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Tampa
    Age
    31
    Posts
    243

    Black & Silver
    2000 WS6 & 2003 Z06

    I'm not too good with wiring. What did you all tap into for the 12 volt source for the wideband? I have an AEM UEGO.

  16. #36
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,520

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    Quote Originally Posted by afattitude View Post
    I'm not too good with wiring. What did you all tap into for the 12 volt source for the wideband? I have an AEM UEGO.
    There's a spare ign spot in the fuse panel inside the car. It's switched 12v so it works perfect....just need a 1/4" spade connector.

    Here's the install from my LC-1 I did earlier this year.... principle is the same.

    LC-1 install

  17. #37
    You want MuShu? Soul TKR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Murrieta, CA
    Age
    35
    Posts
    441

    Arctic White
    1999 WS.6 Trans Am

    :::edit::: no non-sponsor links please...thanks-0rion
    Last edited by 0rion; 08-08-2009 at 12:04 AM.

  18. #38
    Member afattitude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Tampa
    Age
    31
    Posts
    243

    Black & Silver
    2000 WS6 & 2003 Z06

    Awesome write up man! This will help, definitely. Thanks.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Air/Fuel Ratio Gauge question
    By johngoodman in forum General Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-14-2011, 04:22 PM
  2. Help gauge problem and cannot connect to dlc
    By ls1racer1999 in forum General Help
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-10-2009, 05:32 PM
  3. Boost gauge - A/F ratio gauge - & RH mirror cover
    By 9t8z28 in forum Parts For Sale / Trade
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-24-2009, 04:18 PM
  4. GM Quick Connect Fuel Fittings
    By split63 in forum External Engine
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-09-2007, 08:36 AM
  5. air fuel ratio gauge
    By coupe00 in forum Camaro / SS
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-14-2007, 02:27 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •