Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 38

How to connect air/fuel ratio gauge?

This is a discussion on How to connect air/fuel ratio gauge? within the General Help forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; Just purchaced a air/fuel gauge and was wondering were do i connect the purple wire to? o2 sensor? were is ...

  1. #1
    LS1 Member Cali Night Stalker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    144

    Black
    2002 WS6

    How to connect air/fuel ratio gauge?

    Just purchaced a air/fuel gauge and was wondering were do i connect the purple wire to? o2 sensor? were is best and if you have pics would be great thanks! http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/...500_AA280_.jpg

  2. #2
    Slow'er'Ass Mr. Luos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Thornton, CO
    Posts
    23,785

    Red Tint Jewelcoat
    2008 Trailblazer SS

    To connect it...
    Power, ground, purple wire off the O2 wire.
    I would recommend this...since it is the perfect wire fit for the O2 harness. Meaning, no cutting into the factory wiring, which can cause all kinds of problems.
    http://www.lmperformance.com/2602/1.html



    To be honest though, that gauge is nothing more than a light show. Isn't accurate using the stock O2's....which are narrowband.
    Wideband or nothing.

  3. #3
    LS1 Member Cali Night Stalker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    144

    Black
    2002 WS6

    All i need to know if its lean or rich not specific numbers. Will it atleast tell me that? where is the 02 sensor located on the car?
    Last edited by Cali Night Stalker; 07-28-2008 at 08:34 PM.

  4. #4
    Sold: LS1 '85 El Camino ls1camino's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Laurel, Maryland
    Posts
    4,977

    2000 Grand Prix GTP
    2000 Trans Am WS6 M6

    Quote Originally Posted by Mr. Luos View Post
    To connect it...
    Power, ground, purple wire off the O2 wire.
    I would recommend this...since it is the perfect wire fit for the O2 harness. Meaning, no cutting into the factory wiring, which can cause all kinds of problems.
    http://www.lmperformance.com/2602/1.html



    To be honest though, that gauge is nothing more than a light show. Isn't accurate using the stock O2's....which are narrowband.
    Wideband or nothing.
    Can Wideband O2s be purcahsed at any Auto Parts Store? cause my A/F Guage is bouncing around and I could not fine the answer as to why...Luos is the man

  5. #5
    Slow'er'Ass Mr. Luos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Thornton, CO
    Posts
    23,785

    Red Tint Jewelcoat
    2008 Trailblazer SS

    Quote Originally Posted by Cali Night Stalker View Post
    All i need to know if its lean or rich not specific numbers. Will it atleast tell me that? where is the 02 sensor located on the car?
    Barely.
    And only at WOT.


    Search LSx sites for used systems. I doubt you can get them (although they may be able to order something) at your local parts place.
    Wideband will be $250+ for everything.

  6. #6
    Bone it like you own it FORD RECOVERY EXPERT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    TEXAS... U mad?
    Posts
    6,158

    Black / Stryker Blue
    2K WS.6/ 2K9 G8GT

    +1 on the wideband. also look around on craig's list.

  7. #7
    TunedbyFrost.com Tuner Frost's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Richmond VA
    Posts
    2,415

    LS1.com Sponsor
    GM Tuner

    The ultimate in cheap, but a surprisingly good wideband can be found here: http://www.14point7.com/JAW/JAW.htm

    You need a sensor to go with that, and I have them for sale here at quite a nice price (shop around and see!) http://www.lsxtune.com/shop/product_...roducts_id/345

  8. #8
    2004 HEAD/CAM CTS-V 9t8z28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    doylestown, Pa
    Posts
    6,818

    SILVER
    2004 CTS-V

    Quote Originally Posted by ls1camino View Post
    Can Wideband O2s be purcahsed at any Auto Parts Store? cause my A/F Guage is bouncing around and I could not fine the answer as to why...Luos is the man
    A wideband 02 gauge will bounce around also. It will never stay at a specific ratio.

  9. #9
    Slow'er'Ass Mr. Luos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Thornton, CO
    Posts
    23,785

    Red Tint Jewelcoat
    2008 Trailblazer SS

    Quote Originally Posted by 9t8z28 View Post
    A wideband 02 gauge will bounce around also. It will never stay at a specific ratio.
    Yes...that is your A/F changing.

  10. #10
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,519

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    Quote Originally Posted by Frost View Post
    The ultimate in cheap, but a surprisingly good wideband can be found here: http://www.14point7.com/JAW/JAW.htm

    You need a sensor to go with that, and I have them for sale here at quite a nice price (shop around and see!) http://www.lsxtune.com/shop/product_...roducts_id/345
    that is slick....have you ever seen that one working and logging with hptuners? That's also a nice price you have on the bosch sensors....I paid ~$80 for mine last year I think. I'll know where to go when this one dies. I murdered my other one with condensation...won't make that mistake again.

  11. #11
    Sold: LS1 '85 El Camino ls1camino's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Laurel, Maryland
    Posts
    4,977

    2000 Grand Prix GTP
    2000 Trans Am WS6 M6

    Quote Originally Posted by Frost View Post
    You need a sensor to go with that, and I have them for sale here at quite a nice price (shop around and see!) http://www.lsxtune.com/shop/product_...roducts_id/345
    If I put this in place of one of my front bank O2 Sensors, would this mess with my ECU? or should I drill a separate bung in for this sensor and leave my front 2 O2s untouched?

    I already have a A/F Guage.

  12. #12
    Slow'er'Ass Mr. Luos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Thornton, CO
    Posts
    23,785

    Red Tint Jewelcoat
    2008 Trailblazer SS

    Quote Originally Posted by ls1camino View Post
    If I put this in place of one of my front bank O2 Sensors, would this mess with my ECU? or should I drill a separate bung in for this sensor and leave my front 2 O2s untouched?

    I already have a A/F Guage.
    Yes.

    You have to have a sensor bung welded in for the wideband. You cannot remove the factory O2's unless you have a completely new ECU that runs off the wideband sensor. Which is a LOT of money.

  13. #13
    TunedbyFrost.com Tuner Frost's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Richmond VA
    Posts
    2,415

    LS1.com Sponsor
    GM Tuner

    Quote Originally Posted by 0rion View Post
    that is slick....have you ever seen that one working and logging with hptuners? That's also a nice price you have on the bosch sensors....I paid ~$80 for mine last year I think. I'll know where to go when this one dies. I murdered my other one with condensation...won't make that mistake again.

    Yep. One of the heavy posters over on HPT's forum (5_liter_eater) I think is his name, has one in his procharged C6 and did his tuning with it. It's been around for a few years... long enough that most of his links to cheap parts for it have all expired.

  14. #14
    TunedbyFrost.com Tuner Frost's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Richmond VA
    Posts
    2,415

    LS1.com Sponsor
    GM Tuner

    Quote Originally Posted by ls1camino View Post
    If I put this in place of one of my front bank O2 Sensors, would this mess with my ECU? or should I drill a separate bung in for this sensor and leave my front 2 O2s untouched?

    I already have a A/F Guage.


    It needs a seperate bung. Many people use a rear O2 since many people ditch their cats. Even if you keep the cats, the rear O2s could still be tuned out so that a wideband sensor could reside in one of their bungs.

    I have bungs and plugs here: http://www.lsxtune.com/shop/index.php/cPath/103_104

  15. #15
    rapter34
    Guest
    Now here is a question unless you are tuning isn't the wideband just for show? I mean you can watch your A/F but IF you already had it tuned they are kind of useless????

  16. #16
    Bone it like you own it FORD RECOVERY EXPERT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    TEXAS... U mad?
    Posts
    6,158

    Black / Stryker Blue
    2K WS.6/ 2K9 G8GT

    Quote Originally Posted by Frost View Post
    It needs a seperate bung. Many people use a rear O2 since many people ditch their cats. Even if you keep the cats, the rear O2s could still be tuned out so that a wideband sensor could reside in one of their bungs.

    I have bungs and plugs here: http://www.lsxtune.com/shop/index.php/cPath/103_104
    Plugs for the bungholes now sold here!!!!!

    Do you also have T.P. for my bunghole??




    Wide bands aren't useless, even if you are already tuned, you can monitor your wot a/f ratio, and detect when something changes w/o your consent.

  17. #17
    TunedbyFrost.com Tuner Frost's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Richmond VA
    Posts
    2,415

    LS1.com Sponsor
    GM Tuner

    Quote Originally Posted by rapter34 View Post
    Now here is a question unless you are tuning isn't the wideband just for show? I mean you can watch your A/F but IF you already had it tuned they are kind of useless????

    MAFs drift off from calibration over time (and not that much time either) and nitrous, S/C'd or turbo'd setups have more complex and critical needs as well. Fuel pumps get fatigue, rail pressure drops and AFR changes as well.

    I can't imagine not having one, you are essentially blind.

    My stock 02 Z71 5.3L has only one aftermarket part. Wanna guess what it is?

  18. #18
    Sold: LS1 '85 El Camino ls1camino's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Laurel, Maryland
    Posts
    4,977

    2000 Grand Prix GTP
    2000 Trans Am WS6 M6

    Frost, does your Wideband O2 come with wiring intructions?

  19. #19
    TunedbyFrost.com Tuner Frost's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Richmond VA
    Posts
    2,415

    LS1.com Sponsor
    GM Tuner

    Quote Originally Posted by ls1camino View Post
    Frost, does your Wideband O2 come with wiring intructions?
    no need, it comes with the connector that is supposed to be on it. You can get it with an NGK/NTK connector if you need as well.

  20. #20
    Carless blkSS98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Eastsound, WA
    Age
    37
    Posts
    410
    If I buy the AEM Wideband that comes with a gauge and only one sensor, can I put it in place of one of my rears o2's and plug the other one. Then have my o2's deleted from my computer, or would it be better to put the wideband in the y-pipe? I really like the aem gauge/sensor combo, but I don't think it will work w/ one sensor for each bank.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Air/Fuel Ratio Gauge question
    By johngoodman in forum General Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-14-2011, 04:22 PM
  2. Help gauge problem and cannot connect to dlc
    By ls1racer1999 in forum General Help
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-10-2009, 05:32 PM
  3. Boost gauge - A/F ratio gauge - & RH mirror cover
    By 9t8z28 in forum Parts For Sale / Trade
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-24-2009, 04:18 PM
  4. GM Quick Connect Fuel Fittings
    By split63 in forum External Engine
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-09-2007, 08:36 AM
  5. air fuel ratio gauge
    By coupe00 in forum Camaro / SS
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-14-2007, 02:27 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •