Results 1 to 6 of 6

GM Flex Fuel question

This is a discussion on GM Flex Fuel question within the General Help forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; Some of the newer GM's are fixed with the flex fuel program. 8 cyl. when needed then back to only ...

  1. #1
    Love buying generic GM's Nastyfoot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Wine em,Dine em' and 69 em'
    Posts
    2,439

    Black, Black
    2011 "Generic" Gasser

    GM Flex Fuel question

    Some of the newer GM's are fixed with the flex fuel program. 8 cyl. when needed then back to only 4 cyl. when not needed.

    My question is can you override this sytem and keep it in 8 cyl. full time.The salesperson said no. I'm interested in an 06 Impalla SS but I'm leary of this program and the "newness" of it. Is it reliable too?

  2. #2
    Z27
    Z27 is offline
    Member Z27's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Northern KY
    Posts
    123

    Green Red Black
    71 SS 00 SS 06 Impy SS

    That would be the DOD or displacement on demand. Just picked up a new Impy SS and was wondering if it was possible to make it run on 8 all the time. The transition from 4 to 8 and back is pretty seemless. This thing will definitely merge into traffic.

  3. #3
    Retired NOT tired SteveC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Poway, Ca
    Posts
    1,126

    SOM
    2001 Z28 (Sara)

    I'm sure given time, the aftermarket tuners you can purchase will have a feature to modify the PCM.

    SteveC

  4. #4
    The Bandit Wesman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    4,033

    SGM
    1998 Trans Am WS6

    It's probably possible to make it run on 8 all the time, but why would you want to?? Why use double the amount of fuel when you're sitting in traffic?? The transition is practically seemless, the moment you punch the gas all 8 cylinders are engaged, I don't see the advantage to leaving it in 8 cylinder mode when you don't need all the power.

  5. #5
    Z27
    Z27 is offline
    Member Z27's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Northern KY
    Posts
    123

    Green Red Black
    71 SS 00 SS 06 Impy SS

    Quote Originally Posted by Wesman View Post
    It's probably possible to make it run on 8 all the time, but why would you want to?? Why use double the amount of fuel when you're sitting in traffic?? .
    They run on all 8 when sitting in traffic. The only time I see it change is on a steady cruise. You can monitor the operation on the info center in the dash.

  6. #6
    Senior Member 02z28ls1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    near St. Louis
    Posts
    1,205

    navy blue
    2002 Z-28 Camaro M6

    If there isn't any problem with the system why would you want to bypass it?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •