Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Pewter
    '00 SS

Gears, stalls, rear ends

Please excuse the ignorance in this question as I am still learning. I have an A4 and am wondering does that matter for getting different gears? Also, someone please explain how the gearing numbers work. As in 3.73 4.10. What do the numbers mean and exatcly what does this do for the car?

As far as stalls, I get what it does and all that. My question is, say you have a 3200 stall. How do you race with it? Do you hold it at 3200 prior to launch? If so, what about tires spinning?

I know people say get 12 bolt for an A4, but what does a bigger rear end actually do for stability of the car? I wish I had someone in hawaii that knew what they were looking at to look under my car and tell me what type of suspension work I have done. There are things done but I couldnt tell you what they name of it is. Get what I'm saying?

Thanks for any help yall can give me. Again excuse my ignorance on these issues but I gotta start somewhere.
    Suspension: Lower control arms (Spohn), Drive shaft safety loop, Torque arm (Edlebrock), Strut tower brace, Panhard Bar (BMR)

Under the Hood: Smooth bellows, Lid, Catch can, LT Headers, ORY, AIR/EGR delete, Poly engine/transmission mounts,

Exterior: Painted brake calipers (Red), Halo “Spyder” Headlights w/matching parking/turn signals (Black)

Black
    99 WS.6 - Modified

Gears- gears will affect the acceleration and top speed of a car. A numerically higher gear (refered to as a lower gear) will increase acceleration, and reduce top end speed. A numerically lower gear (refered to as a higher gear) will increase top end speed, and reduce acceleration. The numbers represent the amount of times the driveshaft will turn in relation to how many times the axle/wheel will turn. Example - a car with 3.42:1 gears, the driveshaft will turn 3.42 times to the wheel turning one time.