Results 1 to 11 of 11

gauge install

This is a discussion on gauge install within the General Help forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; for those of you who have the A-pillar gauge pod, what power wire did you hook into? Where did you ...

  1. #1
    Member TROYWS6X's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    141

    Black
    1998 WS6

    gauge install

    for those of you who have the A-pillar gauge pod, what power wire did you hook into? Where did you ground them? and where on the engine do I hook up an oil temp gauge? Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    SS-EIAN SSNAKEATER23's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    CHICAGO
    Age
    36
    Posts
    616

    SILVER
    1999 CAMARO SS

    i just paid the cash and had them installed professionally. That way you have no worries, or any kind of issues. good luck

  3. #3
    don't hate MysticBowtie's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Plano
    Age
    36
    Posts
    57

    "bone stock....."
    1994 Camaro Z28

    I ran my wires under the steering column, and over to the 12 volt wire for the radio. I have 4 gauges, electric dump, and my valentine radar all hooked up to it, and haven't had any problems in a few years.

    I grounded them to a ground bolt that is right under the hood release handle.

    I wish I could help you with finding the temp. sensor, but I don't know LS1's that well. For my transmission temp. gauge, I had to install a sensor in my tranny pan.
    Last edited by MysticBowtie; 05-14-2006 at 06:42 AM.

  4. #4
    SS-EIAN SSNAKEATER23's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    CHICAGO
    Age
    36
    Posts
    616

    SILVER
    1999 CAMARO SS

    Here are a few pics of my gauges




  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    nc
    Age
    31
    Posts
    290

    silver
    2000 camaro ss

    where did you get those gauges with the ss on them?

  6. #6
    SS-EIAN SSNAKEATER23's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    CHICAGO
    Age
    36
    Posts
    616

    SILVER
    1999 CAMARO SS

    i ordered the gauges from macewan motorsports. But when i bought my caliper decals the set comes w/ 4 sets of camaro, and ss decals. So before i installed my gauges i applied the decals on the gauges.
    Whisper Lid/SLP HarmonicBalancer/MAFTranslator/DiabloTuner A-Pillar Gauges (Aem Uego A/F,Trans Temp, D-Pic)Magnaflow CB w/CME Tips/ Eibach Pro Kit/ Brembo Cross Drilled/Slotted Rotors/ H.I.D.Kit

  7. #7
    Junior Member baker5209's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Mich
    Posts
    25

    white
    1998 Z28

    Looks great, nice job

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    nc
    Age
    31
    Posts
    290

    silver
    2000 camaro ss

    ahhh i c

  9. #9
    Member TROYWS6X's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    141

    Black
    1998 WS6

    Quote Originally Posted by MysticBowtie
    I ran my wires under the steering column, and over to the 12 volt wire for the radio. I have 4 gauges, electric dump, and my valentine radar all hooked up to it, and haven't had any problems in a few years.

    I grounded them to a ground bolt that is right under the hood release handle.

    I wish I could help you with finding the temp. sensor, but I don't know LS1's that well. For my transmission temp. gauge, I had to install a sensor in my tranny pan.

    Are the gauges lit all the time this way? I was looking for a wire that had power only when the light were on, maybe the dimmer switch somehow.

  10. #10
    don't hate MysticBowtie's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Plano
    Age
    36
    Posts
    57

    "bone stock....."
    1994 Camaro Z28

    I put a switch in-line and located it under my dash for asthetic purposes. I wanted the option of being able to turn them on and off seperatly from the lights. If you want to have them work with the lights, just pull the switch assembly for the lights, probe the wires with a test light of voltmeter, and figure out which wire is the switch wire (it will only be hot when the lights are turned on. I had it that way for about a month, but didn't like it. I moved used the rado because I had a shitty alarm install that had too many wires under the dash, and I wanted my stuff clean and out of the way. I also have two gauges under the radio. Let me know if that helps you out.

  11. #11
    Member TROYWS6X's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    141

    Black
    1998 WS6

    yeah. That helps alot. thanks

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •