Fuel Gauge Broken?

This is a discussion on Fuel Gauge Broken? within the General Help forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; My fuel gauge on my ford taurus (all lol's aside) is all kinds of messed up...Whenever I start it up, ...

Fuel Gauge Broken?

My fuel gauge on my ford taurus (all lol's aside) is all kinds of messed up...Whenever I start it up, the level goes to its correct spot, and then while I drive, it drops back down to either Empty or a random point on the gauge...Gets really annoying, because I'll go to fill my tank because it says empty and I'll fill it with two gallons

Any help?

The real reason I ask, is because my mechanic buddy said that the sensor reacts strangely with certain fuels...I am a manager at a grocery store and the store gives us a huge discount on their gas, like a dollar off per gallon its great.

But what sucks is that this gas is one of the fuels that he said I shouldn't use...Fack. I haven't had it happen with my other car yet, but he said it has happened to cars other than fords, too....Freakin weird. What's in the gas that throws of the float?

I want my dollar off haha

Super Moderator

Black & Blue
    '02 WS.6 / '07 Suburban

The sulfer content in fuel sometimes causes gauge issues -- however, it could also be a bad sender, or corroded wiring. Chevron Techron fuel system cleaner is recommended as a possible remedy.

98 Formula
    06 duramax