Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Engine ticking

black
    2000 pontiac trans am

Engine ticking

I know this is a very common question, but I've been listening to it for about 4 years now. I have a 2000 trans am, it has dynatech long tube headers, high flow cats y pipe, into a corsa cat back, the car also has a ls6 intake, and clutch, as well as a granatelli maf. I have used amsoil 5w30, but i switched to pennzoil ultra, might be just me It seams the ticking is not as apparent with the pennzoil and in my opinion the car seams to run better. So I've seen and watched a lot of ls1 with different types of ticking issues, I've ruled out piston slap, my 2002 5.3L truck has piston slap and it goes away quickly. My car, the sound never goes away. As far as a bearing I really don't feel its a bearing, its been there for 4 years now, driving the car from Connecticut to myrtle, Connecticut to Virginia multiple time, occasionally i drive the car a little spiritedly, and the sound hasn't gotten any worse, hasn't changed at all. oil pressure is good no problems there its always been above 40 at an idle even after a long run. i changed the oil sending unit after i changed the intake manifold, no changes in oil pressure. i recently did an overnight soak of GM's top engine cleaner thinking it could have been carbon knock, no changes there. I'm starting to lean more toward the direction of an oil pump O-ring? maybe its lifter related. also thinking of pulling the push-rods out, but if I'm going to go that far into the engine I want to change the camshaft, been putting it off for some time, every time I get some money something comes up. but i just need to know the bottom end is healthy before I put cam in the car. Oh i did notice this, i put the car away for the winter time, start it up every now and then, the clicking is not as bad when the weather is cold, so I'm really leaning toward an oil pump O-ring. any input would be appreciated.