Results 1 to 7 of 7

Engine races At Idle

This is a discussion on Engine races At Idle within the General Help forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; I recently tried to start my 98 RamAir after a winter's sleep. I turn the key to start position and ...

  1. #1
    Junior Member midnitejam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Parma, Ohio
    Posts
    64

    Red
    1998 WS6

    Engine races At Idle

    I recently tried to start my 98 RamAir after a winter's sleep. I turn the key to start position and I hear click,click,click. I then call Tripple-A for a jump start. I figured the battery died over the winter's inactivity.

    The AAA technician reported that the battery had an adiquate charge and should have cranked over the engine. He stated that some problem other than the battery was probably causing the trouble.

    Once the engine started, I wouldn't idle slower than 3K. I blipped the throttle a couple of times (thinking the throttle wiring was sticking) and it would rev to 5k and slowly settly back to about 3k. I had a custom dyno-adjusted program dialed into the computer when the car was put away for the winter.

    My questions are several.....
    1) Did the jump start destroy the computer's program?
    2) How do I reset the computer to original default settings?
    3) What is the procedure with the fuse box to reset the default settings?
    4) Has anyone else had or heard of a similar problem?

    ThanX
    midnitejam

  2. #2
    TJEA Retirement Home Dr.Crash's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    U. S And A Greatest country in all of world
    Posts
    3,383

    Stock
    2002 Camaro

    after you got the tune did you ever drive it? or did you just park it? also how long did it sit? maybe a vac leak caused by old broken vac lines. check to make sure the TB and throttle cable arent caught on something. is you car throwing any codes? is the TB properly adjusted? This is just a couple of ideas. let me know how it goes

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Pearland
    Posts
    8

    Lt Pewter Metallic
    2002 SS

    1. You didn't destroy the program.
    2. If the battery was completely dead for some time, the computer is 'relearning.'
    3. Pull PCM BATT & PCM IGN fuses in engine compartment and wait 10-15 minutes. (Although if your battery was dead for a lengthy time, this is already accomplished).
    4. The cars act like that in the idle relearn loop. It takes a start/stop cycle or 2 to even it out in most cases.

    If that doesn't knock it out, you can look at the IAT, TPS, etc.

  4. #4
    Senior Member ss~zoso~ss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    )
    Posts
    9,128

    SS: NBM, tan top
    1998-SS, 2010 Jetta TDI

    this happened to me, comp wasnt thowing any codes etc... car hadnt even sat or wasnt even dead, same symptoms

    i think i reset the computer and it went away, it was really bizzare tho, sucked


    keep us posted

  5. #5
    TJEA Retirement Home Dr.Crash's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    U. S And A Greatest country in all of world
    Posts
    3,383

    Stock
    2002 Camaro

    make sure to check your PCV hoses. the little section just before the manifold seems to crak and break on people every so often. also check to make sure that nothing is obstructing the cable or TB

  6. #6
    Junior Member midnitejam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Parma, Ohio
    Posts
    64

    Red
    1998 WS6

    Thanks for the replies.

    The reason for my concern about the pcm program was that it was a custom program which was dialed in while using the info generated by a dyno.

    My fears that the pcm would revert back to the factory default program were well founded. Apparently, the custom program was lost.

    I had my TA flat-bedded to the local dealership where the battery was replaced.

    The seat-of-the-pants meter suggest that I no longer have the custom program. It's way down on power and the speedo indicates no recalibration for the 411 richmonds.

    Last summer the car was doing mid/high 12's @ 112-114 mph on street tires.

    Moser 411
    Complete chasis replacement parts with Hotchkiss (spelling?)
    Hooker long tubes
    Off road Y-pipes

    ]

  7. #7
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,520

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    unless the dealership flashed your pcm with a tech 2 back to stock you didn't lose your custom tune. You can't "lose" a tune.
    The high idle could very well be a vacuum leak like durango suggested. Look over all the hoses especially the pcv hose going into the side of the intake. Also, check the air intake between the maf and throttle body.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Help: Hign engine idle
    By austen.holton in forum General Help
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-19-2010, 07:39 AM
  2. Engine stuttering at Idle
    By mike171562 in forum General Help
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 04-01-2010, 01:03 PM
  3. Engine Won't Idle
    By kempfer99ta in forum Classic Muscle
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-24-2010, 05:57 AM
  4. Question: Engine Idle RPM for a 02 Manual
    By kool-aide in forum General Help
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 10-29-2009, 02:04 PM
  5. May 18th - flashlight drag races (legal races)
    By jrc1122 in forum Eastern Members
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-10-2008, 12:05 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •