Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: engine build

engine build

ok so i am going to buy a 98-2002 z28-ss-ws6 one of those 3. My problems are i cant find any pricing or what i need to build a 600+ hp engine. I have 30k to spend on the car and upgrades. I want it to be built correctly so there is no worries on breaking. Also i know i need a new rear end prefferably a 9 inch because i want the M6 not the A4. What about the tranny tho should i get the gears built up also if thats possible?

Lots of questions i know but im a newb on ls1 sites (first post) and dont know too much about ls1 engines at all really.

any help on pricing or parts i will need to build it and what supporting mods i would need would be appreciated.

sorry if im in the wrong section or if i am incorrect at all.

also how much does a 9 inch cost and do i buy it new or used?
    Last edited by joewarner; 04-25-2009 at 10:10 PM. Reason: edit

anyone? is there a different website of forums i should go to and ask this?

Negro
    2000 Trans Am WS.6

year is not going to matter, b/c your going to be replacing most stuff.... i vote ws6 based off looks, and your looking at

full bolt on, heads, cam, and either a turbo setup, supercharger, or nitrous....

Black
    2002 SS

Quote Originally Posted by joewarner View Post
    anyone? is there a different website of forums i should go to and ask this?
    You can search for topics and find lots of info.
    How much will you spend on the base car.
    Nitrous, blower,turbo or just raw motor?
    Daily driver or track car?

Red

With the budget you have, you could just upgrade the entire engine to a pre-built package from a builder like MAST or Schwanke...

Negro
    2000 Trans Am WS.6

It's going to be hard to push 600 all N/A

Quote Originally Posted by jambofla View Post
    You can search for topics and find lots of info.
    How much will you spend on the base car.
    Nitrous, blower,turbo or just raw motor?
    Daily driver or track car?