Results 1 to 15 of 15

Does the PCM need to relearn when new IAC?

This is a discussion on Does the PCM need to relearn when new IAC? within the General Help forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; Does the PCM have to go through a relearn process if I install a new IAC (Idle Air Control Valve)?...

  1. #1
    Spaz is My Mentor SMWS6TA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Ugy Lower Corner of AL
    Posts
    10,505

    Navy Blue Metallic
    98 T/A w/a little mods...

    Does the PCM need to relearn when new IAC?

    Does the PCM have to go through a relearn process if I install a new IAC (Idle Air Control Valve)?

  2. #2
    Senior Member JayTA98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    3,351

    Mean Black
    1998 Trans Am

    Quote Originally Posted by SMWS6TA View Post
    Does the PCM have to go through a relearn process if I install a new IAC (Idle Air Control Valve)?
    I think don't think so. Did you disconnected the battery?

  3. #3
    Spaz is My Mentor SMWS6TA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Ugy Lower Corner of AL
    Posts
    10,505

    Navy Blue Metallic
    98 T/A w/a little mods...

    I have gotten the part yet, will pick up on way home. Just wanted to know if it did.

    This high idle (1000 rpm) has become a mission to figure out why.

  4. #4
    Senior Member JayTA98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    3,351

    Mean Black
    1998 Trans Am

    Quote Originally Posted by SMWS6TA View Post
    I have gotten the part yet, will pick up on way home. Just wanted to know if it did.

    This high idle (1000 rpm) has become a mission to figure out why.
    I will disconnect the battery swap the IAC and reconnect. See what it does.
    Have you tried the TPS procedure for it to learn the default TB blade position?

  5. #5
    Spaz is My Mentor SMWS6TA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Ugy Lower Corner of AL
    Posts
    10,505

    Navy Blue Metallic
    98 T/A w/a little mods...

    Quote Originally Posted by JayTA98 View Post
    I will disconnect the battery swap the IAC and reconnect. See what it does.
    Have you tried the TPS procedure for it to learn the default TB blade position?
    yep and no change...after talking with Cutlas, it's either this or a tuning issue. I wanted to knock this out before I send it to Frost to look at it.

  6. #6
    Senior Member JayTA98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    3,351

    Mean Black
    1998 Trans Am

    Quote Originally Posted by SMWS6TA View Post
    yep and no change...after talking with Cutlas, it's either this or a tuning issue. I wanted to knock this out before I send it to Frost to look at it.
    I was going to say has the idle been like that since you own the vehicle?

  7. #7
    Spaz is My Mentor SMWS6TA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Ugy Lower Corner of AL
    Posts
    10,505

    Navy Blue Metallic
    98 T/A w/a little mods...

    well, I got the new IAC in and still no change

    It did drop it to a steady 950-1000 rpm but no more. with a/c on it's 1100.

    Hey Jay, did you do the air pump delete?

    I ask because I traced my HVAC line to make sure it didn't get cracked or broke. Just by the PCM I see that it splits and the line follows the wire harness around to the front.

    I believe this goes to the air pump which I deleted. If I'm correct it hasn't been capped off yet and that could be my vacuum leak.

  8. #8
    Senior Member JayTA98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    3,351

    Mean Black
    1998 Trans Am

    Quote Originally Posted by SMWS6TA View Post
    well, I got the new IAC in and still no change

    It did drop it to a steady 950-1000 rpm but no more. with a/c on it's 1100.

    Hey Jay, did you do the air pump delete?

    I ask because I traced my HVAC line to make sure it didn't get cracked or broke. Just by the PCM I see that it splits and the line follows the wire harness around to the front.

    I believe this goes to the air pump which I deleted. If I'm correct it hasn't been capped off yet and that could be my vacuum leak.
    yes that could be a leak. Reach behind the intake and make sure you only have one line coming out. Follow the single line and it meets at a 3 way valve. Disconnect the line that comes from the intake and cap it off. See if the idle gets better. Your a/c vent are not going to work properly but you are trying to see if there is a vacuum leak in the rest of the tubing after the 3 way valve.
    Last edited by JayTA98; 06-30-2011 at 12:56 PM.

  9. #9
    Spaz is My Mentor SMWS6TA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Ugy Lower Corner of AL
    Posts
    10,505

    Navy Blue Metallic
    98 T/A w/a little mods...

    I just tried it and No change in idle except if I left it off, then it wouls rise up a little.

  10. #10
    Senior Member JayTA98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    3,351

    Mean Black
    1998 Trans Am

    Quote Originally Posted by SMWS6TA View Post
    I just tried it and No change in idle except if I left it off, then it wouls rise up a little.
    I doubt is a vacuum leak then. I will think that maybe the idle was set to 1k rpm by a tuner. Has it always been like that? have you sprayed carb cleaner around the engine looking for a gasket leak?
    Last edited by JayTA98; 06-30-2011 at 06:50 PM.

  11. #11
    Spaz is My Mentor SMWS6TA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Ugy Lower Corner of AL
    Posts
    10,505

    Navy Blue Metallic
    98 T/A w/a little mods...

    yes on carb cleaner, well this leaves me sending it to frost for a retune or live with it till I do h/c.

  12. #12
    Senior Member JayTA98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    3,351

    Mean Black
    1998 Trans Am

    Quote Originally Posted by SMWS6TA View Post
    yes on carb cleaner, well this leaves me sending it to frost for a retune or live with it till I do h/c.
    so the idle is been like that since you own it?

  13. #13
    Spaz is My Mentor SMWS6TA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Ugy Lower Corner of AL
    Posts
    10,505

    Navy Blue Metallic
    98 T/A w/a little mods...

    Quote Originally Posted by JayTA98 View Post
    so the idle is been like that since you own it?

    Yes, I even tried switching back to my stock TB and that was with the LS1 intake too.

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    texas
    Posts
    1,621

    silver
    2000 formula

    when i put in a PP TB i also put in a new IAC......when i 1st fired it up it was idling around 2000......i trying all sorts of things to get the idle down......i finally shut the engine off and cranked it back up......idle went back to normal.......go figure

  15. #15
    Spaz is My Mentor SMWS6TA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Ugy Lower Corner of AL
    Posts
    10,505

    Navy Blue Metallic
    98 T/A w/a little mods...

    I've start/stop even took for a 40 min drive and still settles at 1000 rpm so I know now it is not the IAC.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. p1336 code - crank relearn condition
    By 1MileCrash in forum General Help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-02-2013, 06:41 PM
  2. Cheapest CASE relearn I can do myself?
    By Teeeman in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 11-20-2009, 12:35 PM
  3. Question: CASE relearn question
    By DemonSpeed in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-20-2009, 09:04 AM
  4. Help: Idle relearn issues
    By ksupersport02 in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-27-2008, 04:32 AM
  5. Do I need a crank sensor relearn?
    By TransAmcoupe98 in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10-13-2007, 11:12 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •