Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Black
    1999 Camaro SS

Dealer says i need a new water pump, am i getting scammed?

Okay i took my car in because it was overheating and pinning the needle on red. all the fluids were fine and the fans were coming on so i figured it was the thermostat. So the service guy calls me back and tells me it is gonna cost 1,100 dollars!!! he says the water pump needs to be replaced ($600) because it is leaking, and two hoses($300??) need to be replaced and the radiator needs to be flushed which will cost 100 and then add in labor for everything. I am a college student and this is the first time i've taken my car to this dealer, i am getting a weird feeling that these guys see me a young guy in this car and just figure my parents will pay so they can rip me off? I mean my car is a 99 camaro ss with only 82k miles on it and i barely drive it. can the water pump already have gone bad?? what if it is just those two hoses leaking and then he throws in the bs about my water pump....

Anyone know the symptoms of a bad water pump? i don't know what to do because either way i have to pay them 82 just for lookin at the car and i will feel stupid if i take it somewhere else and they say the same thing is wrong.

Green Red Black
    71 SS 00 SS 06 Impy SS

Sounds like a rip off to me. Water pump listed at $145 plus shipping from GM Parts Direct. $600 is way to much markup. All I've ever seen a water pump do is leak or make noise from a bad bearing. I guess it could lock up but that would be pretty obvious when the belt starts smoking. Go for a second opinion at an independent shop. And $300 for a couple of hoses? I don't think so.

Black
    1999 Camaro SS

correction

water pump was 322.98 (it was $600 with labor included) and one of the hoses was 168.12 and the other was 27.95. then he added in gaskets and thermostat...

Blown, Stroked, & Sprayed

Black
    383 Procharged & N20 Vert

Waterpumps just usually leak. I have never heard of one fail.