Results 1 to 12 of 12

connecting 4 guage where to get +12V

This is a discussion on connecting 4 guage where to get +12V within the General Help forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; I'm wanting to connect a 3rd guage I allready have 2 guages and a radar detector connected to the inside ...

  1. #1
    Member qwik219d9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Atlanta, GA,Ft.Walton Bch,FL
    Posts
    411

    silver
    99 ws6

    connecting 4th guage where to get +12V

    I'm wanting to connect a 3rd guage I allready have 2 guages and a radar detector connected to the inside AUX. inside side fuse box so it's maxed out with the 15amps.

    I'm thinking maybe connect my wide band to the lower cig. lighter/ +12V since it's a swicthed +12V power supply.

    I was thinking of using the air pump circuit sense I have removed the AP.

    any better suggestions.

    Thanks
    Last edited by qwik219d9; 08-12-2010 at 06:58 AM.

  2. #2
    Member Head Hunter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Fisco, TX
    Posts
    113

    Pewter
    1999 Trans Am WS6

    Wish I could help but haven't a clue.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    pajeff02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Mansfield, PA
    Posts
    21,576

    Black & Blue
    '02 WS.6 / '07 Suburban

    I pulled power for my cutout from the front underhood electrical box. Like you, I had maxed out my only open power source in the dash panel. I believe in the underhood box it was an open circuit for something that our cars are not equipped with, however, the secondary air fuse may work as well.

  4. #4
    Electrical Engineer KMdef9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    North of the Motorcity
    Posts
    2,611

    Custom Swirly Black
    2001 WS6 M6

    3 guages and a radar maxed out a 15amp? I doubt it. My fogs on my jeep are 100W a peice and they're on a 10amp fuse.

    You should be alright with using the same circuit, if not, put a 20amp in.

  5. #5
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,520

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    sounds like you have quite a bit of stuff going on there. You can definitely pull the 12v from the cig lighter or use the a.i.r. pump circuit. I would probably try to keep from running everything to the ragged edge and run a single line with a junction block and fuse everything individually.

  6. #6
    Veteran Hi-Po's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    10,461

    Black
    1999 TA WS.6

    I did like 0rion stated awhile ago and it worked nicely. Ran a dedicated power wire to a added fuse block, and everything received its own fuse. Also, everything was on a relay as well. There's a write up with pictures laying around here somewhere.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    pajeff02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Mansfield, PA
    Posts
    21,576

    Black & Blue
    '02 WS.6 / '07 Suburban

    I ran a heavier gauge wire out of my dash panel and then split it to feed everything. Unless you add a separate junction block, like Hi-Po and 0rion, things get a bit messy with everything being tied in. Not a bad idea to bring in another feed imo.

  8. #8
    Veteran Hi-Po's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    10,461

    Black
    1999 TA WS.6

    How to install gauges - Write up

    There you go. Gosh that thread is messy!!! I did have a diagram drew out for someone else once upon a time also. It described which wire was going where and why. This may not be the route your looking to take, but its an option. Good luck

  9. #9
    Super Moderator
    pajeff02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Mansfield, PA
    Posts
    21,576

    Black & Blue
    '02 WS.6 / '07 Suburban

    Messy? Like this?



  10. #10
    Veteran Hi-Po's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    10,461

    Black
    1999 TA WS.6

    Quote Originally Posted by pajeff02 View Post
    Messy? Like this?


    Click for full size
    I seriously had to do a double take and make sure that wasn't one of my pictures!

  11. #11
    Super Moderator
    pajeff02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Mansfield, PA
    Posts
    21,576

    Black & Blue
    '02 WS.6 / '07 Suburban

    LOL -- It did look a lot better once everything was tied together.

  12. #12
    Member qwik219d9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Atlanta, GA,Ft.Walton Bch,FL
    Posts
    411

    silver
    99 ws6

    wiring options

    Quote Originally Posted by KMdef9 View Post
    3 guages and a radar maxed out a 15amp? I doubt it. My fogs on my jeep are 100W a peice and they're on a 10amp fuse.

    You should be alright with using the same circuit, if not, put a 20amp in.
    I have a 5 amp fuse on each of the 3 allready coonnected read here the total currnet draw on this AUX should not exceed 15 amps.

    Quote Originally Posted by 0rion View Post
    sounds like you have quite a bit of stuff going on there. You can definitely pull the 12v from the cig lighter or use the a.i.r. pump circuit. I would probably try to keep from running everything to the ragged edge and run a single line with a junction block and fuse everything individually.
    yes I'm thinking 15amp on the AUX circuit is enought.

    I would really like to have an auxliary fuse box & have an individaul circuirt for each guage.
    I plan an electric cutout next spring so a block would be very nice to keep the wiring neat organized and labled.

    however I would prefer to have this fuse box under the dash.

    ?would I have to run a like #8AWG or bigger +12V power wire from the engine bay fuse boxs (connect to the post under the red cover inbetween the 2 fuse box's) to feed this auxcilary box?
    ? A relay and a auxcilary block can it be wired diretly to the battery since the relay has a swicthed +12V to turn this block on? if yes this would be much easier.

    Quote Originally Posted by Hi-Po View Post
    I did like 0rion stated awhile ago and it worked nicely. Ran a dedicated power wire to a added fuse block, and everything received its own fuse. Also, everything was on a relay as well. There's a write up with pictures laying around here somewhere.
    yes I read this stickie very good writeup.

    Quote Originally Posted by Hi-Po View Post
    How to install gauges - Write up

    There you go. Gosh that thread is messy!!! I did have a diagram drew out for someone else once upon a time also. It described which wire was going where and why. This may not be the route your looking to take, but its an option. Good luck
    you did that for me a while back thanks again for explaining I would really like the extra fuse box under the dash you're thoughts on wiring under the dash. mainly on the +12V feed line.

    I've have this guage for a while and have taken my time installing it.

    I have the guage mounted, grounded & recently had the O2 bung welded into the driver side Y, so now I'm anxious to finally connect this wide band to check out my tune.I would prefer not to use the lower cig. lighter circuit even if tempary but probably will untill I figure the best way to wire up a extra fuse block.
    Thanks Guy's for helpfull advice
    here's what I have done so far.

    image of the O2 bung I choose this spot because it's close to the LT collector, access hole and on driver side away from the #7 lean
    cylinder.(from what I've read the driver side gives more accurate readings

    feel free to advice or constructively critazie

    Oh and thanks PAJeff02 & bigrondownhiller for you're good advice

    I'll most likely end up w/ something like this even though it's pricy.
    http://www.jegs.com/i/Painless-Perfo...50#moreDetails

    or this. I like this one better from HIPO 6 connects would be enought for furture growth like DC/AC power inverter & radar descambler I plan.
    http://www.electricalconnection.com/...on/pp-univ.JPG
    Last edited by qwik219d9; 08-13-2010 at 06:05 AM.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Does anyone know how to fracture a connecting rod?
    By SMWS6TA in forum General Help
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 07-26-2012, 07:34 PM
  2. Connecting rods?
    By 1999sscamaro in forum Internal Engine
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-11-2010, 08:18 AM
  3. connecting rod
    By 99Firehawk#58 in forum Internal Engine
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-03-2007, 05:14 PM
  4. Triple guage pillar and cobalt guage for sale
    By mikewood21 in forum Parts For Sale / Trade
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 06-20-2006, 04:47 PM
  5. connecting Autometer D-PIC
    By swisschevy in forum General Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-08-2005, 12:10 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •