Results 1 to 15 of 15

Computer Re-Learn / Re-tune

This is a discussion on Computer Re-Learn / Re-tune within the General Help forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; i've heard something about disconnecting one batt cable and the computer will have to relearn all the mods on the ...

  1. #1
    Senior Member ss~zoso~ss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    )
    Posts
    9,128

    SS: NBM, tan top
    1998-SS, 2010 Jetta TDI

    Cool Computer Re-Learn / Re-tune

    i've heard something about disconnecting one batt cable and the computer will have to relearn all the mods on the car, i'd like to do this because i've had my car in storage for a couple months now, and im going to put it back on the road soon (march 8th ) yea!!


    also would it be a bad idea to do this if i have old gas and fuel stabilizer in the tank? should i just burn off all the old gas and then do this?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    2,725
    No need to reset the PCM - I'd just fire it up and go.

  3. #3
    Senior Member ss~zoso~ss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    )
    Posts
    9,128

    SS: NBM, tan top
    1998-SS, 2010 Jetta TDI

    i know i dont have to do it, but if i wanted to how would i go about it



    are you trying to say that it does it constantly like all the time when u drive?
    98' SS Convertible Camaro-76k-Build # 1471, Cragar SS rims, RK SFC's, MAC Panhard, LSX Tune, Shaner S3,
    SLP:short thro,Strut tower brace,fan switch
    MTI Power induction kit,40 Series muffler,Pacesetter LT's + ORY,12 CD changer,3800lbs
    http://www.cardomain.com/ride/787506/1

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    2,725
    This method doesn't require any tools, less wait time:

    PCM Reset

    Turn key on, don't start car
    Pull PCM BATT and PCM IGN fuses in engine compartment
    Wait 5-10 min
    Turn ignition off
    Replace fuses

    Idle will be grumpy until it relearns.

  5. #5
    Senior Member ss~zoso~ss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    )
    Posts
    9,128

    SS: NBM, tan top
    1998-SS, 2010 Jetta TDI

    alright i remember doing that when i was trying to get rid of a SES code

  6. #6
    Member keliente's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Age
    31
    Posts
    723
    99 Firebird Formula

    It won't magically re-tune itself because you disconnect the battery. If you want it to really run better and gain the maximum amount of power from your mods then you need to invest in a real tune.

  7. #7
    Senior Member ss~zoso~ss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    )
    Posts
    9,128

    SS: NBM, tan top
    1998-SS, 2010 Jetta TDI

    yea i know that but i'm broke as a joke, and i dont have enough mods to make it worth it

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Northern Indiana
    Posts
    10

    Black
    1997 Trans Am ws6

    Thanks for posting the reset procedure.

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    dayton ohio
    Age
    35
    Posts
    45

    Blue
    2002 Subaru WRX

    there are certain procedures that can also initiate the fuel trim reset... if you know anyone with a high dollar scanner they can reset the fuel trim learn...on some vehicles with the key on but not running pushin the brakes so many times can activate the computer to relearn its tables..

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    dayton ohio
    Age
    35
    Posts
    45

    Blue
    2002 Subaru WRX

    some tuners can include the LS1edit install in the price of the initial tune..

  11. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    dayton ohio
    Age
    35
    Posts
    45

    Blue
    2002 Subaru WRX

    hope some of that was helpful..

  12. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    arizona
    Age
    32
    Posts
    4

    metalic blue
    2000 trans am

    can anyone tell me about removing the cats and using o2 sims? good or bad?

  13. #13
    Got Rice? Liquifire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    central wisconsin
    Age
    37
    Posts
    702
    Quote Originally Posted by i eat rice
    can anyone tell me about removing the cats and using o2 sims? good or bad?
    depends what your needs/wants are.........if you remove them you will get more power out of it, but it is illegal.........for starters

  14. #14
    Senior Member SeVeReDiStOrTiOn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Roseville, CA
    Posts
    8,164

    05 Wrangler
    00 Z28 sold :-(

    I just pull the neg cable...put the key in to the run position for a few seconds to drain any capacitors of energy...take the key out, reconnect cable and wahhlahh...let it idle under a load(a/c on max...defroster..etc) for 5 mintues....drive it like it's not yours for 20 mins...and you're set. You'll know when you actually forced a relearn...the engine will want to die when you first try to start it.

  15. #15
    Member jmhvenom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH
    Age
    31
    Posts
    821

    Silver
    2002 Z28

    Quote Originally Posted by ss~zoso~ss
    yea i know that but i'm broke as a joke, and i dont have enough mods to make it worth it
    I have seen good gains from people with no mods, it is always worth it if you can find soneone who is good at it that can do it for around 100

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Do I need a computer tune?
    By gearheadbob in forum External Engine
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-21-2006, 04:06 PM
  2. To tune or not To tune
    By mannyGTO in forum GTO
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 02-18-2006, 08:06 AM
  3. Toshiba Satellite Laptop Computer
    By z28smokin in forum General Classifieds
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-29-2005, 01:53 PM
  4. What kind of tune would be best for my mods?
    By shady1504 in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-08-2005, 06:46 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •