Results 1 to 16 of 16

Check Engine Sign Help Plz!!!!!!

This is a discussion on Check Engine Sign Help Plz!!!!!! within the General Help forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; Sorry for weak english i hope u'll try to understande!!! i've got 99z28 i bought it 2 years back it ...

  1. #1
    Junior Member camaro_guy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    UAE
    Age
    33
    Posts
    11

    red
    99' Camaro z28 LS1

    Unhappy Check Engine Sign Help Plz!!!!!!

    Sorry for weak english i hope u'll try to understande!!!

    i've got 99z28 i bought it 2 years back it was going fine all this time just couple of weeks back i was driving and suddenly a check engine sign appears it stay for 2 days then disappears after 1 day again it appears then it remains for 2 days then again disappears now its again there but while driving my car is just fine but however tht check engine sign hurts me alot i went to 2 3 garages but they failed to know wats the problem is here in UAE u can fix your car only if u know wats the problem is u tell them they fix it they cannot find the problem and fix by them selfs so my friend suggest me for this site

    WHAT SHOULD I CHECK?
    IS THEREs ANY SENSORS ?
    OR SOME THING IS BROKEN ?

    Your help will b seriously appreciated

  2. #2
    nc98z
    Guest
    You can turn that lite on by simply not tightening your gas cap good enough. After a couple of days it might go out. Seriously though go to an Auto zone and they will tell you what code you have and what probally caused it. For free! They will even reset it for you too! Can't beat free stuff!

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Laguna Beach, CA
    Age
    41
    Posts
    93

    Red; 58,000 org. miles
    1999 Camaro Z28, M6....

    mine too...same year....thanks nc98z; free is goooooood!!!

  4. #4
    Junior Member camaro_guy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    UAE
    Age
    33
    Posts
    11

    red
    99' Camaro z28 LS1

    thank you very much for ur advise i'll deffinatly check for it

  5. #5
    Rice Killa JwMonE99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Myrtle Beach
    Age
    26
    Posts
    5,561

    Black With T-Tops
    96 Z28 M6

    It is probably the spark plugs

  6. #6
    Member OneslowZ28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    McHenry, IL
    Posts
    107

    Blue
    2001 Camaro SS

    Get a code for us and we may be able to help better. When you take it to get the light checked make sure it is on and DO NOT turn the car off...it might reset.
    HE WHO DIES WITH THE MOST TOYS WINS!!!
    2001 Camaro SS T-Top M6 19" Rims Baer Brakes

    http://www.picturetrail.com/oneslowz28

    OneslowCustoms.com American Racing & Foose Wheels & Magnaflow & Flowmaster Exhaust Skyjacker Lifts
    http://oneslowcustoms.com/index.html

  7. #7
    Life in the Fast lane sunsetorangess's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Bragg NC
    Posts
    2,835

    Met. Sunset Orange
    01 SS

    Yepp Yepp get the codes read and post thema and someone should be able too hook you up. Like said above it could be something as simple as a gas cap not sealing.
    J
    2001 SS, Its not the car its the Driver that matters....

  8. #8
    Member edbird's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    hammond Ind
    Posts
    270

    red
    1999 trans am convert

    Hey Camaro Guy,do you have AUTO ZONEs in the UAE?

  9. #9
    Junior Member camaro_guy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    UAE
    Age
    33
    Posts
    11

    red
    99' Camaro z28 LS1

    Actually we never used this word auto zone here now i dont know wat exactly ur saying we have here garages, showrooms, cheverlet agency, performance garages, computer checking garages, dyno testings. wat exactly ur saying ?

  10. #10
    Impounded 86 IROC-Z's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    .
    Age
    27
    Posts
    11,760

    Everything fiberglass
    2005 Amberlamps

    Quote Originally Posted by camaro_guy View Post
    Actually we never used this word auto zone here now i dont know wat exactly ur saying we have here garages, showrooms, cheverlet agency, performance garages, computer checking garages, dyno testings. wat exactly ur saying ?
    "Auto Zone" is the name of a car parts store in the US, but you shouldn't worry, it sounds like you have the right places to go already.

  11. #11
    Senior Member SeVeReDiStOrTiOn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Roseville, CA
    Posts
    8,164

    05 Wrangler
    00 Z28 sold :-(

    Buy a obd II code scanner and post the results

  12. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Des Plaines
    Age
    34
    Posts
    2

    Black
    2000 Camaro SS

    I have two codes, they both say
    P0140
    O2 SENSOR CKT NO ACTIVITY (BANK 1 OF 2)

    i am guessing these are the o2 sensors
    Where can I find the right ones? Is it an easy install?
    I was looking at o2 simulators from many websites, are they any good?

    I do have a full exhaust

  13. #13
    Alcohol Injected PaganEgyptian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Knoxville,Tn
    Age
    40
    Posts
    139

    Black
    1999 Pontiac Firebird

    Smile

    Mahaba!

    No Sayaara Zone in UAE. lol

    كومبيوتر, العقل اِلكترون إمتحن, فحص النظر, إختبر, جرب, خضع ْختبار, حلل, جرى تجارب, فحص السكر, فحص
    (test computer for codes) sorry I used definitions instead of words.

    I am sorry, my Arabic is not used here in America very much.
    Masalama,

    -Tim
    Last edited by PaganEgyptian; 10-24-2006 at 01:55 AM.

  14. #14
    Junior Member CM Hamrick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    149 Phillips Ln. Empire, Al. 35063
    Posts
    4

    White
    2001 Silverado SWB S/S

    UR correct in guessing O2 sensor,
    PO140= HO2S CIRCUIT INSUFFICIENT ACTIVITY BANK 1 SENSOR 2.
    I know it's been a few days but, maybe that'll help out.

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Oklahoma City
    Posts
    282

    00 LS1, WS6, V8 Gremlin
    96 & 98 GTPs, 64 'Cuda

    That code is saying the cat on that side isn't responding as well as it should - in other words that it needs replacement. While there are O2 sims on the market all the ones I've seen will eventually set a non-activity code. Here in a couple of months our company is planning to release some TRUE sims that not only simulate the sensor being present but will also pass the random test the PCM throws which normally catches all the conventional O2 sims.

    http://www.iecoklahoma.com

  16. #16
    Senior Member Danger731's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Indy
    Posts
    6,712
    I got the same code, I've been drivin with it for a while. If its the forward sensor (in front of the cat) you need to replace it. If it is the sensor behind the cat you can ignore it.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •