Results 1 to 14 of 14
Like Tree3Likes
  • 3 Post By 0rion

car wont go?

This is a discussion on car wont go? within the General Help forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; my car is all fix and everything, but when im only going above 40mph and then floor it. nothing happens ...

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Orlando
    Posts
    211

    Black
    Trans am

    car wont go?

    my car is all fix and everything, but when im only going above 40mph and then floor it. nothing happens its the same speed that you were driving before

  2. #2
    Smiles for 9.5 Years cammed goat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Paterson/Ridgewood, NJ
    Posts
    11,474

    Phantom Black Metallic
    2004 GTO M6

    What did you fix? Have you cleaned your mass airflow sensor? Speaking from experience, if your MAF is dirty, this could result. Also, have you checked your intake bellows between your lid and throttle body? You could have a leak. Are you getting a Check Engine Light? We need more information here because there are multiple possibilities and we need to know exactly what has been done to the car.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Orlando
    Posts
    211

    Black
    Trans am

    Quote Originally Posted by cammed goat View Post
    What did you fix? Have you cleaned your mass airflow sensor? Speaking from experience, if your MAF is dirty, this could result. Also, have you checked your intake bellows between your lid and throttle body? You could have a leak. Are you getting a Check Engine Light? We need more information here because there are multiple possibilities and we need to know exactly what has been done to the car.
    I have a P0121 code which is the TPS, i have change the TPS 4 times, Check the Volts in the Wires and everything looks find.

  4. #4
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,519

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    are you 100% sure that your throttle body hasn't had the stop screw flipped? Post a picture of the throttle stop with the TB at wide open. I saw your original start up video ( post that back up) and that idle was waaay to fast for a cammed car on the stock tune. Post up your tps voltage in the closed position and in the wide open position.

  5. #5
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,519

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    I will help you get this worked out on 2 conditions....you listen to what I say and get the info I request. You've been hard headed since you first started wanting to mod your car about people's advice and recommendations. If you want help here you have to actually listen to what people tell you. I have your same cam on a 114 that I installed and tuned myself so I know what I'm talking about. If you don't want to listen to what we say then not only are you wasting your time but you're wasting ours too.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Orlando
    Posts
    211

    Black
    Trans am

    Quote Originally Posted by 0rion View Post
    are you 100% sure that your throttle body hasn't had the stop screw flipped? Post a picture of the throttle stop with the TB at wide open. I saw your original start up video ( post that back up) and that idle was waaay to fast for a cammed car on the stock tune. Post up your tps voltage in the closed position and in the wide open position.
    I dont know what are you talking about? sure that your throttle body hasn't had the stop screw flipped? its was idle at around 400 - 600rpm with the cammed on stock tune and dieing everytime. its was a 2000rpm cause it was going thought a heat cycle for 22 minutes.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    pajeff02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Mansfield, PA
    Posts
    21,567

    Black & Blue
    '02 WS.6 / '07 Suburban

    Let's see the TPS voltage as requested. You have a lot of very knowledgeable members on here that can work through this with you.

  8. #8
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,519

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    Quote Originally Posted by FMR_TransAm View Post
    I dont know what are you talking about? sure that your throttle body hasn't had the stop screw flipped? its was idle at around 400 - 600rpm with the cammed on stock tune and dieing everytime. its was a 2000rpm cause it was going thought a heat cycle for 22 minutes.
    it's a pretty common practice to flip the bump stop set screw on the tb to give you more adjustment range when the tps is at 0%. Open your tb by hand and look at the stop where the tb stops when closed. There's a set screw there. People usually either do that or drill the hole in the tb out larger to give the car more idle airflow. The screw can't be adjusted too much or it causes all kinds of problems. I'm going to do some more reading on your code. I've seen some tuning references made to cure this code....I'm just not sure yet how they're fixing it with tuning. This code will cause the tranny to act funny though and is probably the root cause of your problems.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Orlando
    Posts
    211

    Black
    Trans am

    Quote Originally Posted by 0rion View Post
    it's a pretty common practice to flip the bump stop set screw on the tb to give you more adjustment range when the tps is at 0%. Open your tb by hand and look at the stop where the tb stops when closed. There's a set screw there. People usually either do that or drill the hole in the tb out larger to give the car more idle airflow. The screw can't be adjusted too much or it causes all kinds of problems. I'm going to do some more reading on your code. I've seen some tuning references made to cure this code....I'm just not sure yet how they're fixing it with tuning. This code will cause the tranny to act funny though and is probably the root cause of your problems.
    well the voltage was 5.0 on the Power Source, .05 on the singal Source and pictures are coming up

  10. #10
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,519

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    check that voltage with the blade closed and then again at wide open.....should be equal to or less than .55 closed and in the 4.5ish range wot.
    Last edited by 0rion; 04-12-2012 at 01:04 PM.

  11. #11
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,519

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    a few other questions I had to were what MAF are you running? I saw your forsale ad where you're selling your stock MAF. What are you running in it's place and was it in there when you had the tune done? Just trying to figure out where we're at in the process. Have you reset the tps after installing the new one? Key off.....unplug tps....key on for 20-30 seconds.....key off.....plug tps back in. That will reset the tps.

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Orlando
    Posts
    211

    Black
    Trans am

    The delay and etc, was a tune issued that was fix with everything that was wrong with it. Its now idling at 800rpm and A/F is at 14.9, new injections and Tune helped alot. The only problems is their's a small leak from the new trans, im going have it check out wednesday.

    but with only a 228R Cam, Full Exhaust, and a Lid. i made 402rwhp & 391rwtq


    vv 010.jpg

  13. #13
    Smiles for 9.5 Years cammed goat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Paterson/Ridgewood, NJ
    Posts
    11,474

    Phantom Black Metallic
    2004 GTO M6

    Those are some good numbers in my opinion. Glad to hear you got the car fixed.

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Orlando
    Posts
    211

    Black
    Trans am

    Quote Originally Posted by cammed goat View Post
    Those are some good numbers in my opinion. Glad to hear you got the car fixed.

    thanks, after everything with the TPS and etc, it was the trans and tune. the tuner said the dyno was reading low to. lol
    Turbo PT-T88 TH400 12psi pump gas "675rwhp"

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Help: car wont start and now gauges wont work!
    By AB'sLs1 in forum General Help
    Replies: 52
    Last Post: 04-20-2013, 09:54 PM
  2. T56 wont go into 3rd or 4th
    By mw98transam in forum Manual Transmission
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-02-2010, 04:09 PM
  3. My car wont go into o/d
    By Speedy_Gonzales in forum Automatic Transmission
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 02-07-2008, 03:50 PM
  4. Help!!! Wont Run...
    By stroked96 in forum General Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-16-2006, 04:40 PM
  5. SLP Air-Box lid wont fit?
    By GlowStickgl in forum General Help
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-11-2006, 11:41 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •