Results 1 to 4 of 4

cam position sensor

This is a discussion on cam position sensor within the General Help forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; OK guys. Need some real help here. I am building a custom ECU that will interface with the stock crankshaft ...

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    huntsville
    Posts
    22

    black
    1959 Apache

    cam position sensor

    OK guys. Need some real help here. I am building a custom ECU that will interface with the stock crankshaft and camshaft potion sensors for timing. The ECU is designed for the 24 tooth LS1 style crankshaft and 1X (rear) cam sensors. I understand that the LS2, LS3, etc. sensors have a 58 tooth crankshaft and 4X cam (front) sensors. Please let me know if I am incorrect on this.

    What I am doing is building an LS3 equivalent engine from scratch, so I can put any parts in it I want. I know I can get crankshfats with the 24 tooth reluctor wheel, but can I use old LS1 hardware for the camshaft and sensor and it bolt right up to the LS3 block like if it were an LS1 so that it sends the signals I need to the ECU? I don't think the LS3 stock cam signal behaves the same as the LS1.

    Any direction would be appreciated.

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    old timer blue02Z's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    31
    Posts
    3,805

    Navy Blue Metallic
    2002 Z28

    well i never have worked on the ls3 but as long as you have the right reluctor you should be good

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    huntsville
    Posts
    22

    black
    1959 Apache

    From what I understand, the "reluctors" are in different places and the sensors in different places. The LS1 has the sensor on the rear of the block and the "reluctor" is just a machined area of the cam that has a high spot and a low spot. For an LS2 or LS3 engine, the cam sensor is located at the front of the engine and the "reluctor" is simply a part of the cam sprocket with raised areas to give it a 4X signal.

    I was just wondering if there is either a provision on an LS2 or LS3 block so that you could put an LS1 cam and LS1 sensor at the rear to get the signal I need, or possibly a sprocket that simply sends a 1X signal instead of the 4X signal so that I could use the front sensor.

    Thanks.

  4. #4
    Bone it like you own it FORD RECOVERY EXPERT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    TEXAS... U mad?
    Posts
    6,158

    Black / Stryker Blue
    2K WS.6/ 2K9 G8GT

    sounds like a pluasible (sp?) idea...

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Question: Bad throttle position sensor?
    By clg82 in forum Firebird / WS6
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-29-2010, 01:10 PM
  2. cam position sensor replacement?
    By PAT-LS101 in forum General Help
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-27-2009, 08:09 PM
  3. throttle position sensor
    By dpinson in forum Nitrous
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-24-2007, 02:22 AM
  4. Cam Position Sensor Ground
    By SStriker in forum General Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-13-2007, 08:54 PM
  5. Crankshaft position sensor help
    By landon00 in forum General Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-20-2006, 08:10 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •