99 Hugger Z28, 03 R6

Question Budget build vs turn-key bank loan?

Okay, I've been researching f-bodies for some time now. I do live in a townhome so I have to sell to make room before I buy. After the jet skiis and truck are gone, I'm planning for a camaro.

My 'dream car' if you will is a 02 ss som vert 6 spd. I read somewhere that theres only 41 of these cars out there (maybe its just the factory slp's). So, from watching ebay and blue book, it looks like I would have to take out a loan for around $15k - $20k.

However, I'm a mechanic by trade and I would like a project car aswell. V6 camaro's are selling for around 3500 here. The plan would be to find a cheap ls1 with hopefully a spun bearing or something. Possibly build a stroker, otherwise build it from the crank up. The rest of the car I would either try for an ss clone or just aftermarket hood, paint, suspension, etc etc. A budget for me with a project like this would be around $10k.

So my question is do I just get what I want and be done, or try to stick to a budget and build up a car? What would you do? Thanks in advance.

2005 GTO M6 Black
    2000 Z28 A4 Red

Me personally since I'm not the type hung up on "my car is # XXXX" or one of xxx I would build one to my taste. If you plan on doing anything mod wise that is irreversible then it also makes little sense to buy one for intrinsic value.

Well it depends on how crazy you want to go on a build verses the money you want to spend.

It's been my experience that most of the time you can purchase a car "done" cheaper than building one from scratch.

It really depends on what you start with. You can easily sink $30,000 into a car and still not be happy with it. (just ask my wife,,,lol)

I honestly don't think they are ever finished.

92 LS1 Lumina A4
    00 Formula WS9