Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 54

after market gauges

This is a discussion on after market gauges within the General Help forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; what kind and brand of gauges are you using? and electrical or mechanical?? post pictures of your setups...

  1. #1
    Veteran Blackbird WS6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    van down by the river
    Posts
    1,937

    after market gauges

    what kind and brand of gauges are you using? and electrical or mechanical??


    post pictures of your setups
    Last edited by Blackbird WS6; 09-24-2010 at 07:50 PM.

  2. #2
    Auto Painter RyanJM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Age
    41
    Posts
    2,002

    White
    1998 Trans Am

    I have always used autometer electric gauges in my cars and never had a problem.
    1998 Trans Am 85k miles.
    Bolt ons, MS3 113LSA cam, Circle D Stall, Tune, Modified WS6 style hood, Full Suspension, 6000k HID's, Clear Side Markers w/ Leds, Led 3rd Brake Light and 18" AR Staggered Killer Wheels w/ BFG KDW NT's.- Weekend Toy/DD
    02 Trailblazer -Sold
    09 Ram 1500 CC - Sold
    09 Cobalt SS/TC - Sold
    13 ram 1500 LoneStar CC 4x4 - Magnaflow, K&N,and more to come-DD/Toy

  3. #3
    Veteran Blackbird WS6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    van down by the river
    Posts
    1,937
    Quote Originally Posted by RyanJM View Post
    I have always used autometer electric gauges in my cars and never had a problem.
    you have any pictures of your setup in the car?

  4. #4
    Life in the Fast lane sunsetorangess's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Bragg NC
    Posts
    2,835

    Met. Sunset Orange
    01 SS

    +1 on Autometer electric, eliminates the need for running lines and tubing, just need to run wiring and instail a sending unit.
    J
    2001 SS, Its not the car its the Driver that matters....

  5. #5
    Veteran Blackbird WS6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    van down by the river
    Posts
    1,937
    Quote Originally Posted by sunsetorangess View Post
    +1 on Autometer electric, eliminates the need for running lines and tubing, just need to run wiring and instail a sending unit.
    J
    true true....now we got that out of the way (going electric) what gauges does everyone use? as in oil temp/ water temp/ air-fuel/ oil pressure......and whatnot

  6. #6
    Life in the Fast lane sunsetorangess's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Bragg NC
    Posts
    2,835

    Met. Sunset Orange
    01 SS

    Its depends on what you want to monitor, Your display should have voltage, oil pressure and coolant temp. All of the stockers are just "Estimates" but fairly close to the actual temp and pressure.
    Some people also run a wideband 02, Trans Temp, and coolant temp or fuel pressure etc etc. If your running nitrous you can mount a bottle pressure guage, or if FI run a boost guage.
    J

  7. #7
    Veteran Blackbird WS6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    van down by the river
    Posts
    1,937
    Quote Originally Posted by sunsetorangess View Post
    Its depends on what you want to monitor, Your display should have voltage, oil pressure and coolant temp. All of the stockers are just "Estimates" but fairly close to the actual temp and pressure.
    Some people also run a wideband 02, Trans Temp, and coolant temp or fuel pressure etc etc. If your running nitrous you can mount a bottle pressure guage, or if FI run a boost guage.
    J
    thanks for reminding me about the nitrous guage, forgot about that lol

  8. #8
    Veteran Blackbird WS6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    van down by the river
    Posts
    1,937
    anther question.....are there any other mounting places other then the a pillar that someone makes a mounting place and or bracket??

  9. #9
    King 0f n00bz shady milkman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Shepherd, Michigan
    Age
    29
    Posts
    11,775

    blacker than wesleysnipes
    98' trans am

    Quote Originally Posted by Blackbird-WS6 View Post
    anther question.....are there any other mounting places other then the a pillar that someone makes a mounting place and or bracket??
    i will be running the innovative AFR gauge along with the ES electric full sweep trans temp and then a ES electric full sweep fuel pressure.

    people put gauges in their interior vents

  10. #10
    Veteran Blackbird WS6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    van down by the river
    Posts
    1,937
    Quote Originally Posted by shady milkman View Post
    i will be running the innovative AFR gauge along with the ES electric full sweep trans temp and then a ES electric full sweep fuel pressure.

    people put gauges in their interior vents
    i need my vents lol 110 outside hmmmm yea vents are staying lol.......i need room for 5 gauges soooo i have 3 on the pillar, just need a place for the other 2 that doesnt look stupid or out of place

  11. #11
    King 0f n00bz shady milkman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Shepherd, Michigan
    Age
    29
    Posts
    11,775

    blacker than wesleysnipes
    98' trans am

    Quote Originally Posted by Blackbird-WS6 View Post
    i need my vents lol 110 outside hmmmm yea vents are staying lol.......i need room for 5 gauges soooo i have 3 on the pillar, just need a place for the other 2 that doesnt look stupid or out of place
    well taking 2 of the vents down wont be very bad.

  12. #12
    Veteran Blackbird WS6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    van down by the river
    Posts
    1,937
    Quote Originally Posted by shady milkman View Post
    well taking 2 of the vents down wont be very bad.
    dam dam dammmmmmmmm......hope it doesnt come to that lol, wasnt there a plate that someone makes to put a gauge where the TCS switch is?? will who ever has it lol

  13. #13
    King 0f n00bz shady milkman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Shepherd, Michigan
    Age
    29
    Posts
    11,775

    blacker than wesleysnipes
    98' trans am

    yeah..you could make one pretty easy....give it a first gen camaro look.

  14. #14
    Veteran Blackbird WS6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    van down by the river
    Posts
    1,937
    Quote Originally Posted by shady milkman View Post
    yeah..you could make one pretty easy....give it a first gen camaro look.
    yep, just might have to do that

  15. #15
    Auto Painter RyanJM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Age
    41
    Posts
    2,002

    White
    1998 Trans Am

    Quote Originally Posted by Blackbird-WS6 View Post
    you have any pictures of your setup in the car?
    I don't have any pics of.my 5.0'S anymore and I haven't got.around to installing them in the TA yet since I haven't done the cam or stall yet. Plan on a wideband 02,trans and oil temp.

  16. #16
    Veteran Blackbird WS6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    van down by the river
    Posts
    1,937
    Quote Originally Posted by RyanJM View Post
    I don't have any pics of.my 5.0'S anymore and I haven't got.around to installing them in the TA yet since I haven't done the cam or stall yet. Plan on a wideband 02,trans and oil temp.
    cool cool.....im not running a trans temp

  17. #17
    Junior Member fst64_v8pwr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    10

    BLACK
    2002 Ram Air TA

    AUTOMETER.... always great products.

  18. #18
    Veteran Hi-Po's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    10,461

    Black
    1999 TA WS.6

    I run Spec gauges. Google them. Have a write up in this section on the install and the plate I made.

  19. #19
    Veteran Blackbird WS6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    van down by the river
    Posts
    1,937
    anyone ever use prosport gauges? i have seem some people use them BUT i never had them myself

  20. #20
    King 0f n00bz shady milkman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Shepherd, Michigan
    Age
    29
    Posts
    11,775

    blacker than wesleysnipes
    98' trans am

    Quote Originally Posted by Blackbird-WS6 View Post
    cool cool.....im not running a trans temp
    Auto or standard? If auto and running a aftermarket stall...you need to run one

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Is there any market for a '70 250 CID six
    By dock in forum Almost Anything Goes
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-20-2011, 07:29 AM
  2. Wanted: After market air box lid
    By LS1buckey in forum Parts Wanted / Trade
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-09-2008, 08:28 PM
  3. in the market for an ls1, What to look out for?
    By carzam1209 in forum General Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-17-2008, 12:49 PM
  4. any market for.....
    By speedracer25f in forum General Help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-08-2007, 04:18 PM
  5. Phantom Gauges,white Gauges(lt1),gauge Pod
    By onefastbird! in forum Parts Wanted / Trade
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-19-2006, 04:20 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •