Results 1 to 6 of 6

2 gauges into 1 sending unit

This is a discussion on 2 gauges into 1 sending unit within the General Help forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; Can I have 1 sending unit (oil pressure) wired to 2 oil pressure gauges? or will that cause faulty/inaccuracy readings?...

  1. #1
    Member bobbyd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    austin
    Posts
    143

    2 gauges into 1 sending unit

    Can I have 1 sending unit (oil pressure) wired to 2 oil pressure gauges? or will that cause faulty/inaccuracy readings?

  2. #2
    Electrical Engineer KMdef9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    North of the Motorcity
    Posts
    2,611

    Custom Swirly Black
    2001 WS6 M6

    I would assume innacurate, as the (stock) sending unit sends out enough voltage for the current draw of 1 guage. I would also guess it probably divide the number in half if the same exact guage was used.

  3. #3
    ʢ ൧ ൨ ൩ ൪ ൫ ൬ ൭ ൮Ր Ց Ւ Փ Smittro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Pittsburgh
    Posts
    9,965

    White
    2008 Hummer H3

    I agree with Kevin.

    IMHO, your best bet would be to use a second sending unit from the same oil port or find another pressurized port elsewhere on the block.

    This can also be done by adding a threaded pipe "T" between the stock sending unit and the block.

    You can then add a seperate sending unit and still run the stock one.

    You also have the choice in this same fasion to add a mechanical guage.

    However,, that route always has a chance to leak presurized oil into the interior engine compartment and or the interior of your vehicle.

    Because a mechanical oil PSI guage uses an actual oil line.
    Last edited by Smittro; 12-28-2011 at 12:28 AM.
    :\Users\Steven\Pictures\d6ftg5nh.gif


    Suggestion: If you are particularly irritated by another member's posting habits and are constantly fighting the urge to flame them, you can click on that person's profile, and select "Add to ignore list." This will make that person's posts invisible to you.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    pajeff02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Mansfield, PA
    Posts
    21,576

    Black & Blue
    '02 WS.6 / '07 Suburban

    ^^ This. Add a "T" to the port and install two separate sending units. There is a great thread around here somewhere on doing this --- trying to recall the OP's name... maybe "Junkman" or something like that. Anyone?

  5. #5
    Member bobbyd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    austin
    Posts
    143
    thanks guys.

    that's what I though would happen if you were to run two into 1 sending unit.

    I got the glowshift sandwich adapter

  6. #6
    Junior Member Junkman2008's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Louisville
    Posts
    44

    Navy Metallic Blue
    2001 Corvette Coupe

    Quote Originally Posted by pajeff02 View Post
    ^^ This. Add a "T" to the port and install two separate sending units. There is a great thread around here somewhere on doing this --- trying to recall the OP's name... maybe "Junkman" or something like that. Anyone?
    You would be correct sir. Here's the link.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Help: oil sending unit
    By ls1ws6ben in forum General Help
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 01-31-2011, 07:41 AM
  2. Question: Oil sending unit
    By lancesT/A in forum General Help
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-09-2009, 12:37 PM
  3. Help: Oil Sending Unit
    By GWTWayne in forum General Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-10-2009, 04:34 PM
  4. oil pressure sending unit
    By emotionalpiracy in forum General Help
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 02-16-2008, 07:54 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •