1998 Camaro LS1 swap

So I'm planning on doing an LS1 swap on my 98 Camaro. I've never done a swap before but I'm doing it with a buddy who's quite knowledgeable in cars and has done multiple engine swaps and says we can get the whole thing done for about 800 bucks in parts by getting everything at this place by me called U Pull R Parts in Minnesota. They have the list of the all the prices on there website if you want to check it out. So my main question is, just to be safe, what is everything I'll need to do this swap parts wise and is there a better engine you suggest instead of the LS1?

Navy Blue Metallic
    98 T/A w/ mods, 00 FBVert

OK your car already a LS1 or a V6? Are you manual or auto?

It matters...on how much stuff you need and amount of work.

Now on possible other engines you have options. Truck motors 5.3 and 6.0's are great and far cheaper then LS1 or 2's. The 6.0's are very sought after because they are very universal in both NA (Natural Aspiration) and FI (Force Induction) builds.
    http://www.ls1.com/forums/f7/my-6-liter-build-174257/

http://www.ls1.com/forums/f8/my-8-8-rear-build-165553/

6.0L Block - Forged 403ci , Polluter Stg3 Cam, FAST 102mm Intake, NW102 TB, MSD wires, NGK TR6 plugs, Truck Coil Packs, LS3 Fuel Injectors, CC Pacesetter LT Headers, TS&P ORY, QTP e-Cutout, Magnaflow Muffler, 104mm Air Lid & Line Lock, Catch Can, Stage 2 T56 w/Viper shaft, PRO 5.0 Shifter, Tick MC, SPEC Stg3+ Clutch, QT SFI BH, MWC DSL, Full UMI Performance Suspension, Belstein Shocks, Hotchkis Springs (1" Drop), YR1 Snowflake Wheels wrapped in NT555 tires & Custom Fab Ford 8.8 rear w/Wavetrac Diff 3.73 Yukon Gears, WSQ Hood, 3"CM Strange Eng Drive Shaft.

00 FB Vert - Stock

78 FB - Just getting started......

Horsepower never lies, but is often lied about!