Results 1 to 13 of 13

01 ws6 wont run

This is a discussion on 01 ws6 wont run within the General Help forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; i have an 01 ws6 auto with 17000 miles. the other week it had a miss to it, but took ...

  1. #1
    Junior Member winston01's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Acme,PA
    Age
    38
    Posts
    18

    navy
    2001 TA WS6

    01 ws6 wont run

    i have an 01 ws6 auto with 17000 miles. the other week it had a miss to it, but took about 30 miles or so for the check engine light to come on. so i scanned it and it said MAF so i reset the light and ran it for 2 weeks and last night it was acting the same so i got it home, no check engine light. When i scanned it today it was idling rough but the scanner showed no problems. MAF was working ok. Now it wont even start and still no check engine light i'm confused. can anyone please help with some suggestions.

  2. #2
    Senior Member 35thAnniZ28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,809

    eating bulldog
    son of biscuit

    check the terminals..and think about replacing the maf

  3. #3
    Life in the Fast lane sunsetorangess's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Bragg NC
    Posts
    2,835

    Met. Sunset Orange
    01 SS

    Do you remember the code it threw a while back? Try cleaning the maf, and checking your connections like said above. Any mods? So it will just crank but no fire? Do you have fuel pressure at the rail?
    J
    2001 SS, Its not the car its the Driver that matters....

  4. #4
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,520

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    the first thing to do is verify you have fuel pressure and spark. Mods? Anything recently done to the car that may be a factor? What was the actual code you pulled and are there any codes right now?

  5. #5
    Junior Member winston01's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Acme,PA
    Age
    38
    Posts
    18

    navy
    2001 TA WS6

    there were no codes but a guy how is familiar with them told me to un-plug the MAF and the one in the lid. i did and it fired right up with a bit faster idle (about 1000rpm on the tac usually idles @ 700rpm) now of course i have a check engine light and the little trick isn't working the same. i have not reset the new check engine light not sure but ma-b that is y the trick isn't working i don't know and now the air pump sounds like vacuum and it didn't sound like that b-4.

  6. #6
    old timer blue02Z's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    31
    Posts
    3,805

    Navy Blue Metallic
    2002 Z28

    what kind of scanner did you use. if you scanned it with the CE light on then it had a code. codes are what make the light come on. get a tech 2 and scan it, it will bring up the history and what exactly is goin on

  7. #7
    Member jag42420's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Kentucky
    Age
    43
    Posts
    525

    Silver
    2002 WS6 Trans Am

    Need codes...

  8. #8
    Junior Member winston01's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Acme,PA
    Age
    38
    Posts
    18

    navy
    2001 TA WS6

    The car won't throw a code. the reason it threw a code is cause i un-plugged the MAF like a guy told me, then the code came up of coarse so i erased it. now the car is running like crap and there is no code. I've seen cars that seemed to run ok and the check engine light on. mine wont give me a code so the next step it getting a fuel pressure gauge and seeing if it has good pressure, i guess.

  9. #9
    Junior Member winston01's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Acme,PA
    Age
    38
    Posts
    18

    navy
    2001 TA WS6

    have 58 psi fuel pressure so i think that should be ok. still no check engine light any more ideas?

  10. #10
    Member jag42420's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Kentucky
    Age
    43
    Posts
    525

    Silver
    2002 WS6 Trans Am

    Quote Originally Posted by blue02Z View Post
    get a tech 2 and scan it, it will bring up the history and what exactly is goin on
    You really need a tech 2 to read the entire system, and what's going on with it. Other than that, it's going to be hit and miss, changing parts until you find the problem.

  11. #11
    Member 346ci's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    AK
    Age
    27
    Posts
    553

    NBM
    1998 Z-28

    A tech 2 will definitely help with diagnosing your problem better than a generic one, I'd look up the history codes and go from there

  12. #12
    Senior Member slims00ls1z28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    TN
    Posts
    1,212

    2005 GTO M6 Black
    2000 Z28 A4 Red

    Is the MAF still unplugged or did you hook it back up? If it won't start with it plugged back up but will with it unplugged there has to be something wrong with it. If you get it started with it unplugged will it cut off when plugged back in?

  13. #13
    Junior Member winston01's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Acme,PA
    Age
    38
    Posts
    18

    navy
    2001 TA WS6

    it is running now i can't explain y i didn't do anything but let it sit for a couple days. the car seems to run the same with the MAF plugged in or not plugged in. yesterday i put a new fuel filter in. it was running before i put the filter in but, i had it so i figured i would do it anyway.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Help: car wont start and now gauges wont work!
    By AB'sLs1 in forum General Help
    Replies: 52
    Last Post: 04-20-2013, 09:54 PM
  2. Help: car wont go?
    By FMR_TransAm in forum General Help
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 04-17-2012, 08:21 PM
  3. T56 wont go into 3rd or 4th
    By mw98transam in forum Manual Transmission
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-02-2010, 04:09 PM
  4. My car wont go into o/d
    By Speedy_Gonzales in forum Automatic Transmission
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 02-07-2008, 03:50 PM
  5. SLP Air-Box lid wont fit?
    By GlowStickgl in forum General Help
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-11-2006, 11:41 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •